Paradise for hikers

A paradise for mountaineers

Hiking enthusiasts are truly spoilt for choice in Nassfeld, a region with so many paths and trails that it is impossible to explore them all during just one holiday. Attractions include themed hiking routes, geotrails, long-distance walks, summit ascents, circular hikes, rock climbing and walks over the border into neighbouring Italy. Nassfeld's location between mighty peaks and glistening lakes makes it the ideal starting point for exploring the network of over 1000 km of hiking trails in the sunny south of Carinthia. 

A fascinating natural landscpe

A major part of Carinthia's popularity as a hiking destination is the hugely diverse geology to be found in the region. Lush green meadows contrast with rocky peaks, wide valleys and sparkling lakes. Two major Alpine chains, the Gailtal Alps and the Carnic Alps, run across Nassfeld and are both easily accessible on foot or by bike. The region's proximity to the famous Dolomites is also reflected in the landscape, which attracts many pilgrims, long-distance hikers, climbers, walkers and mountaineers. A number of hikes last several days and include overnight stays in Alpine huts.

Explore the diverse landscape on foot

Keen hikers and nature enthusiasts will enjoy the 25 themed hikes in the region, including two long-distance routes ("Karnischer Höhenweg" and "Gailtaler Höhenweg") and two pilgrimage trails ("Marienpilerweg" and "Weg des Buches"). Other hiking routes, such as the geotrails, also give walkers a chance to find out more about the nature and history of the region in a hands-on and interactive way. Those with a head for heights can explore the many family-friendly via ferrata, head for the high-rope adventue park or enjoy a bird's-eye view of the landscape on a high-speed zipwire. Among the most popular attractions for families with children are the Aqua Trail and the Smugglers' Mile with its comic-book adventure tales of the "Pramollo Wilde Bande". Don't miss out on the chance to sample some local cuisine at one of the mountain huts that can be easily reached on foot. Indeed, certain local products such as the dried bacon and cheese traditional to the Gailtal Valley are so renowned that they have been awarded special protected status by the European Union.

Tip! A dip in the beautiful Pressegger See lake is a great way to cool off at the end of the day!

Culinary at the top

It is well known that mountain air makes hungry – just as well that there are many serviced alpine huts with traditional delicacies available to choose from! And these are an absolute must: Rudi’s Frigga Pfandl on the Egger Alm or the Kaiserschmarren at the Almgasthaus Pipp on the Dellacher Alm. What else you shouldn't miss? Delicious homemade Carinthian pasta or the venison goulash on the Straniger Alm are a must for every summit conqueror. Even freshly-backed, lovely smelling bread with homemade spreads is served at the Compton-Hütte at the base of the Reißkofel. There are also many alpine huts where the original, tasty Gailtal Valley Alpine Cheese is made. The Tressdorfer Alm offers also cheese specialities like Camembert, soft cheese with herbs and alpine whey cheese. There is of course something to quench the thirst – homemade syrup like lavender or dead-nettle syrup are served for refreshment. 

Shuttle service for hikers

Many of the hiking trails in the region can only be reached using local transport. In order to make this as easy as possible, Nassfeld runs a hiking shuttle which, in combination with the cable cars and other lifts in the area, opens up a world of hiking and walking trails throughout Carinthia. Using cable cars it is possible to shorten the climb up to the top and to access hiking trails that start at high altitude. The hiking shuttle bus covers the entire region, runs regularly and is completely free of charge with the "+Card PREMIUM"!

Hiking in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region at a glance

Guests staying at one of the 140 Premium Partners in our region are in for a special treat. The +Card PREMIUM gives them free use of the lifts, cable cars and buses as well as free admission to the swimming areas in the Pressegger See lake and plenty of other great advantages.

Search for room

Paradies für Wanderer
und Bergsteiger

Am Nassfeld eröffnet sich für Wanderer und Bergsteiger eine Welt voller Möglichkeiten. Ein einzelner Wanderurlaub reicht bei weitem nicht, um alle Winkel der Region zu erkunden. Themenwege, Geotrails, Weitwanderwege, Gipfelanstiege, Rundgänge, Kletterabenteuer oder Routen ins benachbarte Italien: Hier finden Alpinisten einfach alles! Die zentrale Lage zwischen den Bergmassiven und den Seen macht das Nassfeld zum perfekten Ausgangsort für die über 1.000 Kilometer an Wanderwegen im sonnigen Süden Kärntens. 

Für ambitionierte Alpinisten

Die Geologie trägt mit der abwechslungsreichen Beschaffenheit ihren Teil zum Wandervergnügen bei. Saftige, bewirtschaftete Almengebiete in Kärnten und Italien, weite Täler und glasklare Seen locken Wanderer magisch an. Das Highlight bilden die Gailtaler Alpen (Drauzug) auf der einen und die Karnischen Alpen auf der anderen Seite, die Sie mitten hinein ins Bergerlebnis bringen. Auch die Nähe zu den Dolomiten zeigt sich im Landschaftsbild immer wieder deutlich. Für Pilgerer, Weitwanderer, Kletterer, Wanderurlauber und Bergsteiger stehen zahlreiche – auch mehrtägige – Routen zur Auswahl!

Vielfalt auf allen Wegen

25 Themenwege, darunter zwei Weitwanderwege ("Karnischer Höhenweg" und "Gailtaler Höhenweg") und zwei Pilgerwege ("Marienpilerweg" und "Weg des Buches") bieten atemberaubende Abenteuer für sportliche Wanderer und Naturgenießer. Außerdem lernen Sie auf speziellen Routen, wie den Geotrails, die Natur und Geschichte der Region auf interaktive Weise kennen. Im Felsenlabyrinth begeben Sie sich etwa mit der ganzen Familie auf Klettersteige, balancieren im Hochseilgarten oder schwingen sich durch die Flying Fox Meile. Besonders empfehlenswert für Wanderungen mit Kindern sind unsere Erlebniswege, wie der der Aqua Trail oder die Erlebnismeile "Im Reich der Wilden Bande".  Eine Wanderung auf eine der zahlreichen bewirtschafteten Almen sorgt ebenfalls für ein unvergessliches Natur- und Kulturerlebnis. Dort kosten Sie auch regionale Produkte, wie die EU-geschützten Marken Gailtaler Speck und Gailtaler Almkäse. 

Tipp: Abkühlung nach den Ausflügen finden Sie bei den Strandbädern am Pressegger See.

Schmankerln auf der Alm

Höhenluft macht bekanntlich hungrig - gut, dass zahlreiche bewirtschaftete Almhütten mit traditionellen Schmankerln zur Wahl stehen! Das sollte man sich auf keinen Fall entgehen lassen: Rudi’s Frigga-Pfandl auf der Egger Alm oder den Kaiserschmarren vom Almgasthaus Pipp auf der Dellacher Alm. Was darf man sich noch nicht entgehen lassen? Köstliche, hausgemachte Kärntner Nudeln sind ein „Muss“ für jeden Gipfelstürmer oder auch das Hirschgulasch auf der Straniger Alm. Sogar frisch gebackenes, duftendes Brot mit selbstgemachten Aufstrichen gibt es in der Compton-Hütte, am Fuße des Reißkofels. Zudem gibt es zahlreiche Almhütten, die den originalen, schmackhaften Gailtaler Almkäse produzieren. Auf der Tressdorfer Alm gibt es außerdem Käsespezialitäten wie Camembert, Kräuterweichkäse und Almschotten. Durstig bleibt man natürlich auch nicht – dafür sorgt hausgemachter Sirup, wie etwa Lavendel- oder Taubnesselsirup. 

Wandertransport

Um die geplanten Routen auch zu erreichen, ist man nicht selten auf Transportmöglichkeiten angewiesen. Hier sorgt das Nassfeld mit dem Wanderbus und den Liftanlagen für ausgezeichnete Mobilität beim Wandern in Kärnten. Bergbahnen erleichtern bei Bedarf den Aufstieg und führen zu höher gelegenen Startpunkten. Der Bus verkehrt regelmäßig in der ganzen Region und sammelt Wanderer ein oder liefert sie ab – völlig unkompliziert und mit der "+Card PREMIUM" sogar kostenlos!

Die Wander-Region Nassfeld-Pressegger See auf einen Blick

Ein einzigartiges Service gibt es für Gäste der 140 „Premium Partnerbetriebe“ unserer Region. Die „+Card PREMIUM" ermöglicht die freie Benützung der Lifte, der Buslinien, den freien Zutritt zu Strandbädern am Pressegger See sowie die Inanspruchnahme zahlreicher weiterer Vorteile.

Zimmer suchen