GeoPark Karnische Alpen

Become a rock detective!

Sharp, round, flat, rough, grey, blue and red – the rocks and stones in Nassfeld reveal much about the Carnic Alps and their turbulent history. Indeed, the whole Gailtal Valley is like a picture book laid open telling the fascinating story of Planet Earth over the last 500 million years. Today these rocks and stones continue to stand tall and can be found in all different shapes and sizes along the region's geotrails.

GeoPark Karnische Alpen

Garnitzenklamm geotrail

For millions of years it has carved open the landscape, washing away everything in its path: water. The "Galizenklamm" canyon is a fascinating testament to the irresistible natural power of rivers and streams as they carve a path from the glaciers high above down to the valley floor. This geotrail follows the spring water flowing through the canyon back to its source.

Getting there: Hermagor - Möderndorf - road to Egger Alm hut - Garnitzenklamm car park
Route: car park (612 m) - Ida Warte - Franzens Warte - Unterstand - Klause (1107 m).
Distance: approx. 6 km (to source). Walking time: 4 hours (there and back)
Possible variations: hikers can continue on to Nassfeld either via the Garnitzenalm (approx. 3 hours) or via the Kühweger Alm hut and the Kühweger Sattel ridge (approx. 2 hours).
 

Wolayersee geotrail

The region around the Wolayersee lake is home to the oldest rocks in the Alps to contain fossils visible with the naked eye. The mighty limestone walls between the Hohe Warte, the Seewarte and the Seekopf date back to the Devonian Period (415 to 360 million years ago) and were formed in a shallow sea-like body of water. Also of particular interest are the rock deposits that can be seen on the south-facing slopes of the Rauchkofel mountain. Formed on the seabed many millions of years ago, they contain remains of ancient species related to the modern octopus such as the mighty "orthoceras“, also known as the "straight horn".

Getting there: Birnbaum - Nostra - Hubertuskapelle car park (1114 m).
Route I: walk along the road to Untere Wolayeralm and Obere Wolayeralm, then on to the Wolayerseehütte hut (1967 m).
Distance: approx. 6.5 km; duration: approx. 3 hours.

Getting there: From the Plöckenstraße road to the Südalpen-Weg 03 trail: car park at guesthouse.
Route II: Valentinalm hut (1205 m) - Obere Valentinalm (1540 m) - Valentintörl (2138 m).
Distance: approx. 5.5 km Walking time: approx. 2.5 hours

Zollnersee geotrail

In the area around the Zollnersee lake visitors will find rock deposits dating back to the Early and Late Palaeozoic Period, with the deposits from the Late Palaeozoic Period lying on top of those from the Early Palaeozoic Period. This geotrail is an excellent opportunity to learn about how and when the Alps were formed, the never-ending struggle between land and sea, and which plants and animals fought to survive 300 million years ago.

Getting there - option I: Dellach - Weidenburg - Gratzhof - Dellacher Alm - Rösserhütte -  Zollnersee-Hütte car park.

Getting there - option II: Stranig - Straniger Alm - Waidegger Alm car park. Then take the trail marked "Karnischer Höhenweg 403".

Distance: approx. 5 km Walking time: 1.5 hours
 

Nassfeld geotrail

This geotrail starts at the Watschiger Alm hut in Nassfeld and takes walkers on a journey back in time through 500 million years of history. Long before humans walked the Earth, the peaks of the Carnic Alps lay below sea level. Fossils of mussels, snails, coral reefs and crabs can still be found today, many millions of years after seismic shifts moved the mountains to their current location. The best way to learn about the geological history of this area is on a guided hike leading along the "Karnischer Höhenweg" long-distance trail with several mountain huts en route. Hikers visiting the region in June or July will be treated to the sight of the beautiful wulfenia flower, a relict from the Ice Age today found only in the Carnic Alps and the Himalayas. The geotrail also passes a natural sulphur spring. 

Starting point: Alpenhotel Plattner (1610 m)

Distance: 3.8 km

Vertical metres: 360 m 

Walking time: 3 hours

Laas geotrail

The Laas geotrail takes walkers to Austria's only "petrified forest" where nature has transformed plants and trees into stone over the course of many millions of years. Along the trail and in the village itself there are many attractions showcasing how important geology is to our everyday lives.

Starting point: church in Laas

Distance: 5.3 km

Vertical metres: 260 m

Walking time: 2.5 hours

Visitors' centre at the GeoPark Karnische Alpen

The visitors' centre provides an introduction to the world of fossils and geology. Spread over 120 square metres, it features impressive rock fossils and tells the story of the valley through a film and a series of animations. Children can experience the power of geology at first hand and try out some "explosive" experiments.

Contact details
GeoPark Karnische Alpen
Besucherzentrum
9635 Dellach/Gail 65
+43 4718 / 301- 17
E-mail: office@geopark-karnische-alpen.at
www.geopark-karnische-alpen.at

GeoPark Karnische Alpen

Der Geologie auf der Spur

Spitze und abgerundete, glatte und rauhe, graue, blaue und rote Steine und Felsen erzählen in den Karnischen Alpen von den Wundern dieser Erde. Die Natur hat im Gailtal ein Bilderbuch der Erdgeschichte geschrieben, die hier fast 500 Millionen Jahre zurückreicht. Die Zeugnisse der Vergangenheit sind zu Stein geworden - und Ihr findet diese entlang der Geotrails.

GeoPark Karnische Alpen

Geotrail - Garnitzenklamm

Ungezähmte Kraft des Wassers: Seit Tausenden von Jahren und immerfort arbeitet es sich durch Geröll und Fels, über Schiefer und Kalkgestein. Einmal in einem U-förmigen Graben, dann wieder in einer steilwandigen Klamm wie mit einem Messer geschnitten! Der Weg des klaren Quellwassers ist aber kein Irrweg, sondern folgt bestimmten Vorzeichen. Die Wanderung führt bis zu seinem Ursprung, der hoch oben bei der Garnitzenalm liegt.

Anreise: Hermagor - Möderndorf - Straße zur Egger Alm - Parkplatz Garnitzenklamm
Route: Parkplatz (612 m) - Ida Warte - Franzens Warte - Unterstand - Klause (1107 m).
Länge: Rund 6 km (eine Strecke). Dauer: 4 Stunden mit Rückweg
Alternativen für den Weitermarsch: Entweder über die Garnitzenalm zum Nassfeld (ca. 3 Stunden) oder über Kühweger Alm und Kühweger Sattel zum Nassfeld (ca. 2 Stunden).
 

Geotrail - Wolayersee

In der Umgebung des Wolayersees finden sich die ältesten Gesteine des gesamten Alpenbogens, die mit freiem Auge erkennbare Fossilien enthalten. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit verdienen die Kalkwände zwischen der Hohen Warte, der Seewarte und dem Seekopf, die in der Devon-Zeit -  vor 415 bis 360 Millionen Jahren - in einem flachen Meer gebildet wurden, sowie die Ablagerungen auf den Südhängen des Rauchkofels. In diesen, ebenfalls am Meeresboden entstandenen Gesteinen finden sich neben anderen Zeugnissen von viele Millionen Jahre zurückliegenden Lebens auf der Erde die Vorläufer der heutigen Tintenfische, die riesigen „Orthoceren“ oder Geradhörner.

Anreise: Birnbaum - Nostra - Parkplatz Hubertuskapelle (1114 m).
Route I: Zu Fuß auf dem Fahrweg über Unt. und Ob. Wolayeralm - Wolayerseehütte (1967 m).
Länge: ca. 6,5 km. Dauer: ca. 3h.

Anreise: Von der Plöckenstraße auf dem Südalpen-Weg 03: Parkplatz Ghf.
Route II: Valentinalm (1205 m) - Ob. Valentinalm (1540 m) - Valentintörl (2138 m).
Länge: ca. 5,5 km. Dauer: ca. 2,5h.

Geotrail - Zollnersee

Rund um den Zollnersee kommen neben Gesteinsablagerungen aus dem älteren Erdaltertum auch solche aus dem jüngeren Erdaltertum vor. Die ersten bilden quasi den Keller, die letzteren bauen das Obergeschoß auf. Sie erfahren Näheres über die
Alpenentstehung, den ewigen Kampf zwischen Land und Meer, das Werden und Vergehen in der Natur - und das vor rund 300 Millionen Jahren.

Anreise - Variante I: Dellach - Weidenburg - Gratzhof - Dellacher Alm - Rösserhütte - Parkplatz Zollnersee-Hütte.

Anreise - Variante II: Stranig - Straniger Alm - Parkplatz Waidegger Alm.
Karnischer Höhenweg 403.

Länge ca. 5 km. Dauer: 1,5 Stunden.
 

Geotrail - Nassfeld

Am Nassfeld, genauer gesagt bei der Watschiger Alm, startet  ein Geo-Trail, der 500 Mio. Jahre Erdgeschichte Revue passieren lässt. Lange vor unserer Zeit lagen die Gipfel der Karnischen Alpen noch unter dem Meeresspiegel. Unvorstellbar kraftvolle Erdbewegungen versetzten diese Berge an ihren heutigen Platz. In Stein gepresste Muscheln, Schnecken, Korallen oder Krebse künden von diesem Ereignis. Die Fossilien lassen sich auf einer geführten Tour, die teilweise entlang des Karnischen Höhenwegs und über Almhütten führt, entdecken. Wer im Juni und Juli dort über die Almen steigt, erlebt die blaue Blüte der Wulfenia, ein botanisches Relikt aus der Eiszeit, das nur in den Karnischen Alpen und an den Hängen des  Himalaya wächst. Am Geotrail Nassfeld gibt es sogar eine Schwefelquelle zu entdecken. 

Ausgangspunkt: Alpenhotel Plattner (1.610 m)

Länge: 3,8 km

Höhenmeter: 360 m 

Dauer: 3 h

Geotrail - Laas

Der Geotrail Laas führt Euch zum einzigen versteinerten Wald Österreichs. Entlang des Weges und im Dorf sehen Groß und Klein anhand von vielen Schätzen wie sehr die Geologie unser tägliches Leben bestimmt.

Ausgangspunkt: Kirche Laas

Länge: 5,3 km

Höhenmeter: 260 m

Dauer: 2,5 h

Besucherzentrum GeoPark Karnische Alpen

Im Besucherzentrum lässt sich die Fossilwelt und die Geschichte des GeoParks am bequemsten erleben. Auf 120 m2 erzählen beeindruckende (Groß-)fossilsteine, anschauliche Filme auf einer Großleinwand und viele Animationen von der Geschichte des Tales. Für Kinder gibt es zudem einen Experimentierraum mit „explosiven“ Versuchen!

Kontakt: 
GeoPark Karnische Alpen
Besucherzentrum
9635 Dellach/Gail 65
+43 4718 / 301- 17
E-Mail: office@geopark-karnische-alpen.at
www.geopark-karnische-alpen.at