Easy tours and family cycle routes in the Bike World

Family cycling in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region

The perfect place for cycling holidays with the family? The World of Mountains & Lakes, of course! After all, the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region is perfect for your first mountain biking experiences accompanied by splendid views.

Infinite. Surprising. Diversity. The Bike World offers magnificent views and family-friendly trails. Look forward to a varied cycling region where it’s possible to explore three countries in only one day and discover easy cycle routes and mountain huts!

By the way: With its three summer cable cars offering bike transport, the Nassfeld region is a great cycling area for all ages. Whether you’re looking for leisurely MTB routes or downhill action in the Trail World: Find your perfect family tour in the Carnic and Gailtal Alps!

Our tip: With the +CARD holiday you can use the summer cable cars free of charge – you only have to pay for the transportation of your bike!

Family rides through the Bike World

Easy cycle routes

Your little ones love cycling? Then you’ll be glad to hear that there are numerous easy cycle routes through breathtaking scenery in the World of Mountains & Lakes. What’s more, cycling in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region is a “transnational” experience, with trails taking you to the neighbouring countries of Italy and Slovenia. Thanks to moderately steep forest trails, it’s also easy for beginners, children and youths to get to the region’s most picturesque mountain pastures. What’s more, there is a great number of easy MTB trails with a minimum altitude difference that start and end right in the mountains.

Our tip: The Trail World boasts a pump track for young downhill fans. There are also special bike lessons for kids.

Family tours

Your kids are a bit older? Then our more extensive “family tours” might be the perfect way for you and your loved ones to explore the region’s mountains and lakes. The family tours take you along more ambitious trails and require a bit of stamina and endurance, making them ideal for older kids looking for a little challenge. For instance, how about exploring the Gitschtal valley on the Radweg R3b cycle route starting at Hermagor?

Adventures up in the mountains and down in the valley: Discover the Bike World on the sunny side of the Alps!

Recommended cycle tours for families

  • “Gailtal-Radweg R3” cycle route
    This regional bike highlight takes families from Kötschach-Mauthen all the way to Villach. From there, you can continue along the following two cycle routes.

  • “Alpe Adria“ cycle route
    The long-distance cycle track starts either at Thörl-Maglern or at Tarvisio and takes you along a former railway route all the way to the Adriatic Sea in Grado. For a day tour, we recommend the stage up to Venzone. There are also many guided tours and transfer options for this cycle route.

  • Family tour to Jesenice in Slovenia
    One of Slovenia’s most picturesque cycle routes takes you from Tarvisio to Kranjska Gora, Martuljek-Wald, Mojstrana and Jesenice. As this is a rather long route, we recommend travelling back by train.

  • “Naggler Alm – Weissensee“ route
    This circular route with splendid views of Lake Weissensee is perfect for pleasure-seekers – not least due to the delicious Kaiserschmarren served at Naggler Alm. It’s also possible to combine this tour with a cable car ride and trail adventure.

Family cycling tours with a bit of “help“

E-bikes and bike rental

You would like to go on a more extensive bike tour but are worried that you or your kids aren’t quite fit enough? Then you’ll be glad to hear about the convenient PAPIN rental system! Various PAPIN service and rental stations offer e-bikes and e-mountain bikes for children and adults for rent. And with a little electric assistance, even longer cycling tours become possible for the whole family.

What’s more, the rental bikes can be returned at any PAPIN station. If you’re too tired to ride back to your original rental station, simply leave your bike at another station and hop on the bus to get back to your hotel. Incidentally, the bus is free for all holders of a +CARD holiday or a Guest Card Basic!

Summer without limits in the Family World

What else makes cycling holidays in the Family World attractive? Find out about the many other great activities for families offered in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region!

Find & book

What do you want to discover?

Easy- & Family-Touren in der Bike World

Familien-Biken in der Region Nassfeld-Pressegger See

Wenn Bike-Urlaub mit der ganzen Familie, dann in der World of Mountains & Lakes! Der Lebensraum Nassfeld-Pressegger See ermöglicht es, sich langsam an das Thema Mountainbiken heranzutasten und gleichzeitig den vollen Panoramagenuss zu erleben. 

Grenzenlos. Vielfältig. Überraschend.: Die Bike World für Familien bietet volles Bergerlebnis bei überschaubarem Energieaufwand. Freut euch auf eine abwechslungsreiche Raddestination, in der ihr an einem Tag drei Länder entdecken könnt – nicht nur auf den unzähligen leichten und familienfreundlichen Radwegen, sondern auch bei der wohlverdienten Hütteneinkehr

Übrigens: Auch das Nassfeld selbst verspricht mit drei Sommer-Bergbahnen, die allesamt Bikes transportieren, Bike-Genuss für Jung und Alt. Ob kräfteschonende MTB-Route oder Downhill-Action in der Trail World: Findet eure Familientour in den Karnischen und Gailtaler Alpen!

Tipp: Mit der +CARD holiday nützt ihr die Sommer-Bergbahnen am Nassfeld gratis – lediglich die Mitnahme des Bikes ist zu zahlen!

Im Familienverbund durch die Bike World

Easy-Touren

Eure Kleinen sind bereits jetzt große Bike-Fans? Zahlreiche Easy-Touren ermöglichen in der World of Mountains & Lakes das Eintauchen in atemberaubende Natur. Dabei ist der familienfreundliche Bike-Genuss grenzenlos – und reicht über den Lebensraum Nassfeld-Pressegger See hinaus bis nach Italien und Slowenien.

Über leicht ansteigende Forstwege erreichen auch Anfänger sowie sportliche Kinder und Jugendliche wunderschöne Almgebiete. Zudem garantieren spezielle MTB-Strecken mit Start- und Zielpunkt am Berg durch relativ wenig Höhenmeter besonders sanfte Bike-Erlebnisse.

Tipps: In der Trail World finden kleine Downhiller einen Pump Track zum Üben. Zudem werden spezielle Bike-Kurse für Kids angeboten.

Family-Touren

Euer Nachwuchs ist bereits etwas älter? Dann sorgen ausgewählte Familien-Radrouten für vielfältigen Fahrspaß zwischen Bergen und Seen. Die sogenannten Family-Touren führen über anspruchsvollere Wege – und sind damit für Familien mit größeren Kindern ideal. Ein wenig Kondition und Ausdauer werden den Bikern abverlangt. Dafür werden sie mit Strecken belohnt, die garantiert keine Langeweile aufkommen lassen. Auf dem Radweg R3b wird zum Beispiel von Hermagor aus das gesamte Gitschtal erkundet.

Erlebnis-Garantie am Berg und im Tal – genau das ist es, was euch in der Bike World auf der Sonnenseite der Alpen erwartet.

Tourentipps für bikende Familien

  • Gailtal-Radweg R3
    Bei diesem regionalen Bike-Highlight geht es für die ganze Familie von Kötschach-Mauthen bis nach Villach – mit Anschluss an die beiden folgenden Tourentipps.
  • Alpe Adria Radweg
    Von Thörl-Maglern bzw. Tarvisio führt dieser Fernradweg auf der alten Bahntrasse bis nach Grado an der Adria. Tipp für eine Tagestour ist der Abschnitt bis Venzone. Es werden verschiedene geführte Touren und Transfer-Möglichkeiten angeboten.
  • Familientour ins slowenische Jesenice
    Einer der schönsten Radwege Sloweniens bringt euch von Tarvis über Kranjska Gora, Martuljek-Wald sowie Mojstrana bis nach Jesenice. Da die Strecke recht weit ist, empfiehlt sich die Rückreise mit dem Zug.
  • Naggler Alm Runde Weissensee
    Diese Rundtour mit herrlichen Ausblicken auf den Weissensee ist der perfekte Ausflug für Genießer – dafür sorgt nicht zuletzt der Kaiserschmarren auf der Naggler Alm. Zudem kann diese Tour mit der Bergbahn und dem Trail kombiniert werden.
Familienradfahren mit Unterstützung

E-Bikes und Bike-Verleih

Eine Empfehlung für alle, die sich etwas unabhängiger von ihrer Kondition oder der ihrer Kinder machen wollen: das PAPIN-Verleihsystem. Zum einen bietet es an zahlreichen Service- und Verleihstationen E-Bikes und E-Mountainbikes für Kinder und Erwachsene an. Mit Unterstützung eines Motors werden so im Familienurlaub auf zwei Rädern auch weiter entfernte Ziele erreicht. 

Zum anderen können diese Leihbikes nicht nur überall ausgeliehen, sondern auch an jeder beliebigen PAPIN-Station wieder abgegeben werden. Praktisch, falls Energie und Kraft tatsächlich einmal ausgehen. Einfach das Bike stehen lassen und mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln die Rückreise zur Unterkunft antreten – die Fahrt mit dem Bus ist für Gäste mit der +CARD holiday oder Gäste Card Basic übrigens gratis!

Der grenzenlose Sommer in der Family World

Was macht den Bike-Urlaub in der Family World darüber hinaus einzigartig? Informiert euch gleich, welche weiteren Freizeitangebote im Lebensraum Nassfeld-Pressegger See die Augen eurer Kinder zum Strahlen bringen!

Finden & buchen

Was möchtest du entdecken?

180304_martinlugger_nassfeld_0046 | © MartinLugger