Holidays under starry skies

Camping in the World of Mountains & Lakes

It’s no secret that camping is one of the coolest ways to spend a holiday. Whether it’s camper vans or tents – trends like “vanlife” are living proof that camping holidays are booming.

And that’s not much of a surprise considering the many benefits of living the “camper life”, among them independence, freedom and closeness to nature. Especially for families with young children or pets, camping holidays are a great choice.

After all, it’s easy to structure your day as you wish when camping. Having breakfast as late as midday or enjoying a barbecue with fellow holidaymakers in the evening? All of this is a matter of course for campers.

What’s more, camping is a great adventure. It’s the closest you can get to nature and one of the most relaxing ways to spend a holiday – particularly in the World of Mountains & Lakes!

Why book a camping holiday in the World of Mountains & Lakes?

Just imagine: the rugged peaks of the Carnic Alps. The lush green of the Gailtal valley. The glistening waves of Lake Presseggersee. And now imagine that these are the very first things you see in the morning. You just woke up in your camper van or you have just unzipped your tent – and already you’re bang in the middle of one of the most glorious natural landscapes you can imagine.

Did we whet your appetite for camping holidays in Carinthia? Excellent! After all, the region surrounding the Nassfeld is home to some of Austria’s most beautiful campsites.

Camping in the World of Mountains & Lakes is camping with plenty of luxury. With the luxury of splendid nature all around you, in of one of the sunniest regions of Austria. And of course, with all the luxury that discerning campers expect from an ideal campsite. This means: Camping with great amenities ranging from bakery to sauna and from swimming pool to steam bath – and then some!

Sleep under starry skies and start your hiking, biking or climbing adventure in the World of Mountains & Lakes right at the doorstep of your caravan!

Camping in the World of Mountains & Lakes … not just in summer!

Even if temperatures in the World of Mountains & Lakes decrease, camping aficionados can rejoice. After all, your favourite holiday adventure is not at all limited to summer.

Winter camping is a booming trend these days, offering outdoor enthusiasts the perfect way to prolong the camping season. You can’t get much closer to the Carinthian snow than parking your caravan right in the middle of it.

And don’t worry: Camping in the World of Mountains & Lakes is just as cosy in winter as it is in summer – thanks to plenty of winter-proof campsites, heated bathroom facilities and convenient drying rooms for your clothes and ski equipment. And if your own van is not quite up to winter camping, why not rent a homely bungalow, mobile home or apartment at the campsite?

Winter camping in Carinthia: the best tips

To make your camping trip to winter wonderland an undisputed success, we have compiled a little checklist for you:

  • What to bring: anti-frost windscreen cover, doormat, jump leads, snow shovel
  • Antifreeze: not just for your windscreen washer system but also for your dishwater. Don’t turn off the heating and hot water system during the night – to prevent them from freezing.
  • Sufficient gas: Bring plenty of gas cylinders and, if possible, only use propane gas because it has a very low freezing point.
  • Pitch: Thoroughly remove the snow from your pitch! Place boards beneath your support jacks to prevent your caravan from sinking during thaw. Make sure that your power cables don’t freeze to the ground or get damaged by snow ploughs.

  • Handbrake: Disengage the handbrake after jacking up your caravan to prevent it from freezing.

  • Ventilation holes: Make sure that they are not covered by snow.

  • Snow: A bit of powder snow on top of your camper van is not a bad thing, in fact it helps to insulate your caravan. However, make sure that it’s not more than a thin layer that’s not too heavy!

How to get to the World of Mountains & Lakes with your caravan

A successful camping holiday requires good planning. To make sure that your caravan trip to Carinthia is a success right from the start, we have compiled some useful information for you. Get to your favourite campsite all relaxed and hassle-free with the following tips:

What you should know when driving to the World of Mountains & Lakes with your caravan

Speed limits

  • Caravans up to 3.5 tons: 50 km/h in towns and villages, 100 km/h on open roads, 100 km/h on clearways, 130 km/h on motorways
  • Caravans over 3.5 tons: 50 km/h in towns and villages, 70 km/h on open roads, 70 km/h on clearways, 80 km/h on motorways

 

Road charges

Keep in mind that in Austria, all vehicles using motorways and clearways must carry a “Vignette” or toll sticker!

  • Caravans up to 3.5 tons: A valid toll sticker must be placed clearly visible on the inside of your windscreen. The sticker is available from automobile associations, tobacconists and service stations. Tip: Since 2018, it’s also possible to purchase a digital toll sticker online.
  • Caravans over 3.5 tons: With a bigger caravan, you need a so-called GO-Box, which is available from various GO distributors. The device communicates with the toll gates by way of radio signal and can be charged with up to € 700.


Winter tyres

  • Caravans up to 3.5 tons: Between 1 November and 15 April, vehicles with a weight of up to 3.5 t must be equipped with winter tyres when winter conditions apply. This regulation is not applicable to trailers.
  • Caravans over 3.5 tons: Between 1 November and 15 April, caravans with a weight of more than 3.5 tons must be equipped with winter tyres at least on the drive axle.


Emergency corridor
In case of congestion, drivers on Austrian motorways and clearways are obliged to form an emergency corridor. To do so, all vehicles in the left lane move as far to the left as possible, while all other vehicles move as far to the right as possible, including the hard shoulder.

What do you want to discover?

Urlaub unter Sternen

Camping rund ums Nassfeld

Längst ist es kein Geheimnis mehr: Camping ist eine der coolsten Arten, Urlaub zu machen. Trends wie „Vanlife“ und Co. zeigen, was eingefleischte Camper schon lange wissen: Urlaub im Wohnmobil oder im Wohnwagen boomt!

Und das ist auch nicht allzu überraschend. Schließlich sprechen jede Menge Gründe für Ferien im rollenden Eigenheim! Unabhängigkeit, Freiheit und die Nähe zur Natur sind nur einige davon. Besonders für Familien mit Kindern oder Haustieren ist Campingurlaub oft die erste Wahl. 

Den Tag ganz so gestalten, wie es einem passt. Frühstück erst zu Mittag oder Abendessen vom Gemeinschaftsgrill? Im Campingurlaub läuft der Urlaub einzig und allein nach euren Vorstellungen ab.

Campen ist Abenteuer pur. Natur pur. Und Entspannung pur – ganz besonders in der World of Mountains & Lakes!

Warum ein Campingurlaub in der Region Nassfeld-Pressegger See?

Stellt sie euch vor: die schroffen Gipfel der Karnischen Alpen. Das saftige Grün des Gailtals. Das glitzernde Wasser des Pressegger Sees. Und jetzt stellt euch vor, das ist das Erste, was ihr nach dem Aufwachen seht. Gerade eben habt ihr noch gemütlich in eurem Camper geschlafen oder krabbelt aus dem Zelt – und schon seid ihr mittendrin in der herrlichsten Naturlandschaft, die man sich nur vorstellen kann.

Na, dämmert euch schon, warum Camping in Kärnten so beliebt ist? Gerade die Region rund ums Nassfeld lockt mit einigen der schönsten Campingplätze des Landes. 

Campen im Lebensraum Nassfeld-Pressegger See ist Camping mit Luxus. Mit dem Luxus prachtvoller Natur. Dem Luxus einer besonders sonnenverwöhnten Gegend Österreichs. Und natürlich allem Luxus, den sich anspruchsvolle Urlauber von einem Campingplatz wünschen. Das bedeutet: Campen mit allen Annehmlichkeiten, von der Bäckerei bis zur Sauna. Vom Swimmingpool bis zum Dampfbad. Und mit noch so vielem mehr!

Nachts unter den Sternen schlafen und tagsüber direkt vor der Tür zum Wandern, Biken oder Klettern in die World of Mountains & Lakes starten: Das ist Camping am Nassfeld!

Campen in der World of Mountains & Lakes … nicht nur im Sommer!

Campingfans müssen nicht traurig sein, wenn rund ums Nassfeld die Temperaturen sinken. Ganz im Gegenteil! Denn was in der schönen Kärntner Urlaubsregion im Sommer wunderbar ist, ist auch im Winter ein Traum. 

Wintercamping liegt voll im Trend und bietet Outdoor-Fans die perfekte Chance, die Saison gleich ums Doppelte zu verlängern. Und näher an den herrlichen Kärntner Schnee kann man auch nicht kommen, als mit seinem Camper mittendrin zu stehen, oder?

Seid ganz unbesorgt: Camping in der Ferienregion Nassfeld-Pressegger See ist auch im Winter äußerst komfortabel! Dafür sorgen winterfeste Plätze, perfekt beheizte Sanitäranlagen und praktische Trockenräume für Wäsche und Ski. Wem das eigene Camper-Nest nicht kuschelig genug ist, der mietet sich ganz einfach in einem heimeligen Bungalow, Mobilheim oder Apartment am Campingplatz ein!

Wintercamping in Kärnten – die besten Tipps

Damit euer „Campingtraum in Weiß“ zum vollen Erfolg wird, solltet ihr vor der Abreise einen Blick auf unsere To-do-List werfen:

  • Einpacken: Thermomatten für die Scheiben, Matten zum Schuhe abstreifen, Starthilfekabel, Schneeschaufel
  • Frostschutzmittel: Nicht nur in der Scheibenwischanlage, sondern auch fürs Spülwasser. Heizung und Warmwasseranlage durchlaufen lassen, damit nichts einfriert.
  • Genug Gas: Ausreichend Gasflaschen mitbringen und die Gasanlage wenn möglich nur mit reinem Propan betreiben. Das bleibt auch bei Minusgraden gasförmig.
  • Stellplatz: Stellfläche gut räumen. Um Einsinken bei Tauwetter zu verhindern, Bretter unter den Hubstützen anbringen. Stromkabel so verlegen, dass sie nicht am Boden festfrieren oder vom Schneepflug beschädigt werden können.
  • Handbremse: Nach dem Aufbocken die Handbremse lösen, damit sie nicht anfriert.
  • Be- und Entlüftungsöffnungen: Darauf achten, dass diese nicht zuschneien.
  • Schnee: Ein paar Zentimeter Pulverschnee dienen am Camper sogar zur besseren Isolierung, aber alles darüber hinaus wird schnell zur tonnenschweren Last. Unbedingt abschöpfen!

Anreise mit dem Camper

​​​​​Gut geplant ist halb geurlaubt – so oder so ähnlich könnte das Motto für unvergessliche Campingurlaube in Kärnten lauten. Und das gilt gleich zu Beginn eures Ferienabenteuers! Denn wer sich vorab ausreichend über seine Anreise ins Camping-Paradies informiert, erspart sich später unliebsame Überraschungen.

Damit ihr rasch und problemlos zu eurem Lieblingscampingplatz gelangt, haben wir die wichtigsten Anreiseinfos für euch gesammelt.

Mit dem Camper in die World of Mountains & Lakes – das solltet ihr wissen:

Tempolimits

  • Wohnmobile bis 3,5 Tonnen: innerorts 50 km/h, außerorts 100 km/h, Schnellstraßen 100 km/h, Autobahnen 130 km/h
  • Wohnmobile über 3,5 Tonnen: innerorts 50 km/h, außerorts 70 km/h, Schnellstraßen 70 km/h, Autobahnen 80 km/h

Maut

Achtung: In Österreich gilt Vignettenpflicht, das heißt, Autobahnen und Schnellstraßen sind mautpflichtig! 

  • Wohnmobile bis 3,5 Tonnen: Eine gültige Vignette muss ordnungsgemäß innen an der Windschutzscheibe angebracht werden. Erhältlich ist diese bei den Autofahrerclubs, in Trafiken und an Tankstellen. Tipp: Seit 2018 gibt es auch die Digitale Vignette, die online gekauft werden kann!
  • Wohnmobile über 3,5 Tonnen: Mit einem schwereren Wohnmobil braucht ihr eine sogenannte GO-Box. Erhältlich ist diese bei verschiedenen GO-Vertriebsstellen. Das per Funksignal mit den Mautstellen kommunizierende Gerät kann mit bis zu € 700,- aufgeladen werden.

Winterreifen 

  • Wohnmobile bis 3,5 Tonnen: Zwischen 1. November und 15. April dürfen Fahrzeuge bis 3,5 Tonnen bei winterlichen Straßenverhältnissen in Österreich nur mit Winterreifen fahren. Für Anhänger gilt diese Regelung nicht.
  • Wohnmobile über 3,5 Tonnen: Unabhängig davon, ob Schnee liegt oder nicht, dürfen Wohnmobile mit über 3,5 Tonnen Gesamtgewicht von 1. November bis 15. April nur gefahren werden, wenn Winterreifen mindestens auf der Antriebsachse aufgezogen sind.

Rettungsgasse 

Bei Stau sind Fahrzeuglenker auf Österreichs Autobahnen und Schnellstraßen verpflichtet, eine Rettungsgasse zu bilden. Hierfür fahren alle am linken Fahrstreifen so weit wie möglich nach links und alle anderen so weit wie notwendig nach rechts - auch auf den Pannenstreifen.

Was möchtest du entdecken?

180304_martinlugger_nassfeld_0046 | © MartinLugger