The motto is: Less is more

Mountaineering villages

Mountaineering villages are original mountain places that today invite visitors to enjoy and stay a while. The villages that have come together under the umbrella of the "Mountaineering Villages Initiative" still maintain awareness of the harmonious relationship between man and nature, and show respect for natural boundaries. Thus, mountains and mountaineering enjoy a high priority in the cultural self-image of the locals and visitors. Our region is home to two such places that fulfil the criteria of mountaineering villages, and they have been awarded for their exemplary regional development in sustainable alpine tourism as well as their traditional character. The mountaineering villages of Mauthen and Lesachtal are waiting to be explored.

Mountaineering village

Mauthen

Surrounded by the Gailtal Valley Alps to the north and the Carnic Alps in the south lies the mountaineering village of Mauthen, which can look back on a long history and tradition in alpinism. The diverse landscape with its impressive mountains, unique flora and fauna, clear mountain lakes, impressive waterfalls and amazing gorges has made the village an ideal starting point for unforgettable mountain experiences for decades.

Mauthen is situated halfway down the Carnic High Route 403, a long-distance hiking trail that runs along the state border from Sillian to Thörl-Maglern. The route passes nine refuges and is altogether 155 km long. On the opposite side, with a total length of about 90 km, runs the Gailtal Valley High Route.

The Carnic Alps are one of the most fascinating regions when it comes to the history of the earth, and various "GEO trails" offer interesting knowledge on this subject. The two flower mountains Mussen and Mauthenr Alm, which are home to a great variety of flowers, are a paradise for botanists and anyone who is interested in plants.

The cruel mountain war of 1915/17 has left traces in the Carnic Alps that are visible to this day. The Plöcken Museum in the town hall of Kötschach-Mauthen and the open-air museum on the Kleiner Pal, near the Plöcken Pass, exhibit numerous documents from this period.

The mountaineering village of Mauthen delights with its culinary treats, a diverse local programme, and its ties of friendship to its Italian neighbours.

Here you can find suitable accommodation for your time in the mountaineering village of Mauthen!

Mountaineering village

Lesachtal

The Lesachtal Valley, with its four main villages of Birnbaum, Liesing, St. Lorenzen and Maria Luggau, is also known as Europe’s most natural valley. The winding road that runs high above the River Gail conveys an impression of the region's challenging topography. Numerous trenches run through the Lesachtal Valley and must be crossed or overcome with the help of impressive bridges.

The village of Birnbaum is the ideal starting point for tours to the Mooskofel Mountains around the idyllic Lake Volaya or to the Mussen flower mountain. Starting from Liesing, ambitious mountaineers have the opportunity to cross the mighty Steinwand. The tour leading the Hochweißstein Mountains through the Frohntal valley, which is interesting for mountain-experienced hikers, but also offers numerous climbing routes, starts in St. Lorenzen. The pilgrimage destination of Maria Luggau, with its magnificent baroque church and its pilgrimage walks, is known far beyond the borders of the valley.

Apart from numerous mountaineering highlights, the Lesachtal Valley awaits also with a wealth of culinary delights and cultural-historical treasures. The remoteness of the valley has undoubtedly contributed to the charming preservation of the regional building culture. Well-maintained farmhouses, paintings on window frames and building corners as well as lovingly preserved wayside shrines are a sign of the continued appreciation of a tradition that has long been lost elsewhere.

Here you can find suitable accommodation for your time in the mountaineering village of Lesachtal!

Location and how to find us

The Nassfeld-Pressegger See holiday region lies in the Austrian province of Carinthia, directly next to the Italian border.

Plan your journey

What do you want to discover?

210212_martinlugger__nassfeld_625637 | © MartinLugger

Weniger ist mehr, das ist die Devise.

Bergsteigerdörfer

Bergsteigerdörfer sind ursprüngliche Bergorte, die heute zum Genießen und Verweilen einladen. In den Orten, die unter der "Initiative Bergsteigerdörfer" vereint sind, wird das Bewusstsein für die harmonische Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Natur bewahrt, und es wird den natürlichen Grenzen Respekt entgegengebracht. Daher haben die Berge und das Bergsteigen einen hohen Stellenwert im kulturellen Selbstverständnis der Einheimischen und Besucher. In unserer Region gibt es zwei solcher Orte, die die Kriterien der Bergsteigerdörfer erfüllen und für ihre vorbildliche regionale Entwicklung im nachhaltigen Alpintourismus sowie ihre traditionelle Ausprägung ausgezeichnet wurden. Die Bergsteigerdörfer Mauthen und Lesachtal laden dazu ein, erkundet zu werden.

Bergsteigerdorf

Mauthen

Inmitten der Gailtaler Alpen im Norden und den Karnischen Alpen im Süden liegt das Bergsteigerdorf Mauthen, das auf eine lange Geschichte und Tradition im Alpinismus zurückblicken kann. Die abwechslungsreiche Landschaft mit ihren beeindruckenden Bergen, einer einzigartigen Flora und Fauna, klaren Bergseen, imposanten Wasserfällen und atemberaubenden Schluchten macht den Ort seit Jahrzehnten zu einem idealen Ausgangspunkt für unvergessliche Bergerlebnisse.

Mauthen liegt in der Mitte des Karnischen Höhenweges 403, einem Weitwanderweg der entlang der Staatsgrenze von Sillian bis Thörl-Maglern verläuft. Er berührt neun Schutzhütten und hat eine Gesamtlänge von 155km. Auf der gegenüberliegende Seite, mit einer Gesamtlänge von ca. 90 km, verläuft der Gailtaler Höhenweg.

Die Karnischen Alpen zählen zu den faszinierendsten Regionen der Erdgeschichte und die verschiedenen "GEO-Trails" bieten interessantes Wissen zu diesem Thema. Ein Paradies für Botaniker und Pflanzenliebhaber sind die beiden Blumenberge Mussen und Mauthenr Alm, welche eine große Artenvielfalt an Blumen beheimaten.

Der grausame Gebirgskrieg von 1915/17 hat bis heute sichtbare Spuren in den Karnischen Alpen hinterlassen. Im Plöckenmuseum im Rathaus von Kötschach-Mauthen und im Freilichtmuseum auf dem Kleinen Pal, in der Nähe des Plöckenpasses, finden sich zahlreiche Dokumente aus dieser Zeit.

Das Bergsteigerdorf  Mauthen begeistert mit seinem kulinarischen Angebot, einem abwechslungsreichen Programm vor Ort und seiner freundschaftlichen Verbindung zu den italienischen Nachbarn.

Hier findest du passende Unterkünfte für deine Zeit im Bergsteigerdorf Mauthen!

Bergsteigerdorf

Lesachtal

Das Lesachtal, mit seinen vier Hauptorten Birnbaum, Liesing, St. Lorenzen und Maria Luggau, wird auch als das naturbelassenste Tal Europas bezeichnet. Die kurvenreiche Straße, die hoch über der Gail verläuft, vermittelt einen Eindruck von der anspruchsvollen Topographie der Region. Zahlreiche Gräben ziehen sich durch das Lesachtal und müssen durchquert oder mit Hilfe von eindrucksvollen Brücken überwunden werden.

Die Ortschaft Birnbaum ist der ideale Ausgangspunkt für Touren in die Mooskofelgruppe rund um den idyllischen Wolayersee oder auf den Blumenberg Mussen. Ambitionierte Bergsteiger haben von Liesing aus die Möglichkeit, die mächtige  Steinwand zu überschreiten. Von St. Lorenzen gelangt man durch das Frohntal zur Hochweißsteingruppe, die nicht nur für den bergerfahrenen Wanderer interessant ist, sondern auch zahlreiche Kletterrouten bietet. Der Wallfahrtsort Maria Luggau, mit seiner prächtigen Barockkirche und seinen Fußwallfahrten, ist weit über die Grenzen des Tales bekannt.

Im Lesachtal finden sich aber nicht nur zahlreiche bergsteigerische Höhepunkte, sondern auch eine Fülle an kulinarischen Genüssen und kulturhistorischen Schätzen. Die Abgeschiedenheit des Tals hat zweifellos dazu beigetragen, dass die regionale Baukultur auf charmante Weise erhalten geblieben ist. Gut gepflegte Bauernhäuser, Malereien an Fensterrahmen und Gebäudeecken sowie liebevoll erhaltene Bildstöcke sind ein Zeichen der kontinuierlichen Wertschätzung einer Tradition, die anderswo längst verloren gegangen ist.

Hier findest du passende Unterkünfte für deine Zeit im Bergsteigerdorf Lesachtal!

Lage & Anreise

Die Urlaubsdestination Nassfeld-Pressegger See liegt in Kärnten / Österreich direkt an der Grenze zu Italien.

Anreise Planen
Wandern Alm NLW-21

Was möchtest du entdecken?

NLW Badespass Tag65