Family activities involving water

Experience the waters of the Family World

Whether you prefer swimming, stand-up paddling or windsurfing: The World of Mountains & Lakes offers plenty of opportunities for family fun in the water. For instance, the region is known for its beautiful lakes and streams including Lake Pressegger See, Lake Weissensee or the Gail river. And there’s more! Find out about water fun in the Family World, and experience endless fun and sun-kissed holidays with happy kids!

Our best tips: water fun for families

  • Carinthia’s 1st Adventure Park
    Action, nature and swimming fun: All this and more is waiting for you and your little ones at the one-of-a-kind Adventure Park at the shores of Lake Pressegger See.
  • “BergWasser“ Aqua Trail
    The 1.5-kilometre family adventure trail at Nassfeld’s Madritsche is perfect for playing and exploring.
  • Themed playground ”The realm of the lake witch“
    Experience thrilling adventures in the realm of the lake witch at the 2,400-square metre nature playground .
  • Water sports on the Gail river
    Whether it’s rafting, river tubing, canoeing or kayaking – there are many ways to tackle the wild waters of the Family World together with your loved ones!
  • Garnitzenklamm gorge
    Thundering waterfalls, impressive rock faces and emerald-green bays make Garnitzenklamm gorge a spectacular outdoor experience.
  • Weissenbachklamm gorge
    The wildly romantic Weissenbachklamm gorge in the Gitschtal valley is popular with young and young-at-heart water lovers.

 

Our tip: Enjoy water fun in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region at discounted prices with the +CARD holiday! With the convenient card, you benefit from free admission to two public beaches and three public swimming pools. In addition, it offers many more discounted attractions and services, including the popular summer cable cars.

Swimming fun and relaxation amid mountains and lakes

Lake Presseggersee

Lake Presseggersee and its surroundings make it easy for families to enjoy summer on the sunny side of the Alps. Discover one of Carinthia’s cleanest and warmest swimming lakes that is also lovingly called “the bathtub of the Gailtal valley”. Surrounded by Austria’s second biggest reed belt, the lake reaches temperatures of up to 28 degrees Celsius in summer and boasts an excellent water quality.

Curious to find out which family adventures are waiting for you at Lake Pressegger See? Expect a nice mixture of action and relaxation, of fun, activities and leisure. For instance, there are five public beaches at the shores of the lake, plus Carinthia’s first Adventure Park. Or how about a visit to the free themed playground “In the realm of the lake witch” at Hermagor public beach?

Other lakes and streams in the region

Only 25 kilometres from the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region, another great recreation area is waiting for you at Lake Weissensee. Discover natural beaches, varied activities and a picturesque lakeside, three quarters of which are still undeveloped.

Alternatively, you can learn more about the region’s water on the “Garnitzenklamm“, “Wolayersee“ and “Zollner See“ geo trails in the Carnic Alps GeoPark. What’s more, many family hiking trails lead past crystal-clear mountain lakes. There’s no better way to end a hike than with a quick dip, don’t you think?

An extra dose of adrenaline: How about a family rafting adventure on the Gail river? Or a bit of canyoning, canoeing, kayaking or river tubing? Fans of water sports will be thrilled with the many possibilities waiting for them in the World of Mountains & Lakes. If you like it a bit more quiet, we recommend fly sight-fishing on the Drave’s biggest southern tributary.

The sun isn’t shining today? No problem! Simply seize the chance to relax and splash about at the region’s many indoor hotel swimming pools, at Aquarena Kötschach-Mauthen or at the nearby “Warmbad Villach“ family spa!

A picture-perfect family summer

It’s the ideal combination of lakes and mountains that makes the Summer World so attractive and unique. Find out what else there is to discover in the amazing Family World!  

Find & book

What do you want to discover?

Familienaktivitäten am und im Wasser

Wasser erleben in der Family World

Ob Schwimmen, Stand-up-Paddeln oder Windsurfen: In der World of Mountains & Lakes laden gleich mehrere Gewässer dazu ein, mit der ganzen Familie am oder im Wasser zu sein. Pressegger See, Weissensee und Gail sind sicherlich die bekanntesten. Doch auch darüber hinaus gibt es in der Family World erfrischende Abwechslung zu entdecken. Überzeugt euch selbst – und freut euch auf grenzenlosen Spaß, glückliche Kinder und Urlaubstage voller Lachen

Tipps: Wasserspaß für Familien

  • 1. Kärntner Erlebnispark 
    Action, Natur und Badespaß: All das erwartet euren Nachwuchs im europaweit einzigartigen Erlebnispark direkt am Pressegger See.
  • Aqua Trail „BergWasser“
    Spielen und staunen heißt es auf diesem 1,5 Kilometer langen Familien-Erlebnisweg auf der Madritsche am Nassfeld. 
  • Themenspielplatz „Im Reich der Seehexe“
    Mit 2.400 Quadratmetern verspricht der Naturspielplatz spannende Abenteuer im Reich der Seehexe. 
  • Wassersport auf der Gail
    Ob Rafting, River Tubing, Kanu oder Kajak – gemeinsam mit euren Liebsten begebt ihr euch in der Family World in wilde Gewässer.
  • Garnitzenklamm
    Tosende Wasserfälle, imposante Felswände und smaragdgrüne Buchten machen die Garnitzenklamm zu einem eindrucksvollen Naturerlebnis.
  • Weißenbachklamm
    Mit der wildromantischen Weißenbachklamm zieht das Gitschtal junge und alte Wasserfreunde in seinen Bann.

Tipp: Besonders günstig wird das Wasser-Erlebnis in der Urlaubsregion Nassfeld-Pressegger See mit der +CARD holiday. Mit dieser profitiert ihr nicht nur von kostenlosem Eintritt in zwei See-/Strandbäder und drei Freibäder. Sondern auch von weiteren Vergünstigungen und Inklusivleistungen – darunter zum Beispiel die Fahrt mit den Sommer-Bergbahnen

Badespaß und Erholung zwischen Bergen und Seen

Pressegger See

Das Gebiet rund um den Pressegger See und auch der See selbst laden Familien dazu ein, den Sommer auf der Sonnenseite der Alpen in vollen Zügen zu genießen.

Euch erwartet einer der reinsten und wärmsten Badeseen Kärntens – da wundert es nicht, dass er auch als „Badewanne des Gailtals“ tituliert wird. Eingebettet im zweitgrößten Schilfgürtel des Landes lockt das Gewässer mit angenehmen Temperaturen bis 28 Grad Celsius. Von der hervorragenden Wasserqualität ganz zu schweigen. 

Gespannt, welche Familienabenteuer euch am Pressegger See erwarten? In jedem Fall eine gelungene Mischung aus Action und Erholung, wie gemacht, um sowohl aktiv zu sein als auch zu relaxen. Da wären zum Beispiel die fünf öffentlichen Strandbäder rund um den See. Und der 1. Kärntner Erlebnispark direkt am See. Oder auch der naturnahe, frei zugängliche Themenspielplatz „Im Reich der Seehexe“ beim Strandbad Hermagor.

Weitere regionale Seen und Gewässer

Nur 25 Kilometer vom Lebensraum Nassfeld-Pressegger See entfernt lockt mit dem Weissensee ein weiterer Aktiv- und Erholungsraum. Naturbelassene Strände am Seeufer, das nur zu einem Drittel verbaut ist – auch hier wird ein abwechslungsreiches Programm am und im Wasser geboten. 

Alternativ bringen euch die Geotrails Garnitzenklamm, Wolayersee und Zollner See im GeoPark Karnische Alpen die Geheimnisse der regionalen Gewässer näher. Viele Familienwanderungen führen euch entlang glasklarer Bergseen – und was könnte eine Tour besser abschließen als ein erfrischender Sprung ins kühle Nass?  

Eine Extraportion Adrenalin gefällig? Wie wäre es mit einer Familien-Rafting-Tour auf der Gail? Canyoning, Kanu, Kajak oder River Tubing: Freunde des Wassersports werden in der World of Mountains & Lakes Augen machen. Am größten südlichen Nebenfluss der Drau geht es übrigens auch ruhiger zu – zum Beispiel beim Fliegenfischen auf Sicht. 

Kein gutes Wetter? Kein Problem! Dann findet ihr den Wasserspaß in den zahlreichen Hotelhallenbädern, der „Aquarena Kötschach Mauthen“ oder in der nahen Familien-Erlebnistherme „Warmbad Villach“.

Ein Familiensommer, wie er im Buche steht

Es ist gerade die Kombination aus See und Berg, die die Summer World abwechslungsreich und einzigartig macht. Erkundigt euch gleich, was es über das Wasser hinaus zu erleben gibt – und freut euch auf grenzenloses Urlaubsglück in der Family World!   

Finden & buchen

Was möchtest du entdecken?