Kirchbach im Gailtal

Holiday memories to last a lifetime

Once upon a time … there was a holiday region full of stories! Kirchbach im Gailtal is a great place to learn about the area’s history and write your own holiday stories.

The community’s eventful past is omnipresent in the charming holiday region – whether it’s during a hike up to its magnifcient summits or during a leisurely village stroll. Ancient, picturesque roadside shrines, lovingly restored water mills, the country’s oldest farm … If you take a walk around Kirchbach with open eyes, you will discover cultural gems at every corner.

Besides history, nature plays the second leading part in the picturesque holiday region. Nestled between the Gailtal Alps and the Carnic Alps, the municipality of Kirchbach is one of Carinthia’s top addresses for outdoor sports and mountain leisure.

The best thing about it: Although Kirchbach offers everything from A like action to Z like zest for life, the laid-back community does not get crowded during peak season – thanks to the region’s sustainable tourism concepts.

What to see around Kirchbach

The best sights

Back to the past: An exploration of Kirchbach is a journey back in time. The Carinthian municipality is deeply rooted in tradition, radiating plenty of rustic charm. On the region’s mountain pastures, the farmers still produce cheese the traditional way, and the local cultural heritages give you an idea of how life used to be back when.

Don’t miss the following sights around Kirchbach:

  • St. Michael parish church
    With its distinctive baroque bulbous spire, the five-storey tower of the impressive church in Grafendorf can be seen from afar.
  • Carinthia’s oldest dated farm
    The exact proprietorship of the “MaroschHof“ (Gasthof Martin) in Tressdorf can be traced back for 600 years.
  • Thurnhof castle
    The well-preserved castle was first mentioned in a document in 1364 and today is used as a guesthouse.
That’s what winter in Carinthia looks like

Kirchbach in winter

Winter holidays in Kirchbach are exactly the way you want them to be – quiet and relaxed if you’re looking for a getaway from the hustle and bustle, or action-fuelled and thrilling if you’re looking for adventures.

Even better: In Kirchbach im Gailtal, you don’t have to choose between the two! How about first swooshing down the region’s best slopes with your loved ones and then relaxing indoors with a hot drink and fantastic views of the glistening winter wonderland outside?

What else could you do before (or after or instead of) the relaxation? Take your pick! Glide along the Gail river on the Obergailtal panoramic cross-country run from Gundersheim to Waidegg.

Do some pirouettes at the ice rink of Kirchbach Sports Club in Oberdöbernitzen. Or explore the wide-spread network of groomed winter hiking trails between Grafendorf and Waidegg.

What about skiing and snowboarding? You can do that at Griminitzen ski resort with its attractive lift prices and family-friendly slopes. The ski resort’s easy slopes and charming T-bar lift are perfect for the little ones and first-timers. And once you have mastered those first turns, simply hop on the free shuttle bus to get to the more challenging and spacious slopes of the Sun Ski World – doesn’t that sound great?

A sight to behold

Kirchbach in summer

The picture-book summers of Kirchbach im Gailtal are almost too good to be true. Every day, a new adventure is waiting for you and you’ll be going home with a suitcase full of holiday memories.

The picturesque holiday region offers summer activities for every taste. Explore the splendid Carinthian nature from high above while paragliding. Go horse-back riding. Jump into the refreshing water of the Gail river or soak up the sun at the public swimming pool in Kirchbach. Or how about cruising along the family-friendly Gailtal Radweg R3 cycle route or tackling one of the region’s more challenging mountain bike trails?

If you’re into hiking, the region’s vast network of mountain trails between 600 and 2,300 metres altitude offer unrivalled views of the Carinthian summer landscape. For instance, explore the mountain world during a mill hike or herbal hike or follow your nose on the 30-kilometre, transnational cheese trail through the Carnic Alps.

And there’s more! Improve your handicap at the 18-hole golf course in Waidegg, have a barbecue at the natural playground along the Gail river, discover the water mills of Tressdorf … or be inspired by a thousand other great summer ideas in the Summer World!

Delicious Kirchbach

Cuisine & culture

Tradition meets modernity: The culinary delights of Kirchbach bring together different nations and generations. The famous Gailtaler Almkäse g.U. cheese is still produced the traditional way by the local farmers and the region’s mountain huts serve mouth-watering Gailtaler Speck g.g.A. bacon. At the same time, the region’s cuisine is also modern and open-minded.

During the harvest season, the people of Kirchbach celebrate one of the region’s most popular foodstuffs, with the annual apple festival revolving all around the delicious fruit. Whether it’s at the distillery, in the cider press or as part of one of the region’s delicious “Mehlspeisen” desserts – apples are the stars of the day!

The apple festival is just one of many local festivities during which you can experience the true taste of Kirchbach. Discover many more events in Carinthia and join the celebration!

You should spend your holiday in Kirchbach if …

  • … you want to experience the history of the Gailtal valley from up close.

  • … you want your cross-country skiing adventure do start right at your doorstep.

  • … you would like to explore Carinthia’s most fragrant treasures during a herbal hike.

  • … you don’t want to miss the traditional apple festival in Kirchbach.

  • … you would like to discover the origins of the mouth-watering Gailtaler Almkäses g.U. cheese.

Find & book

What do you want to discover?

180304_martinlugger_nassfeld_0046 | © MartinLugger

Kirchbach im Gailtal

Urlaubsgeschichten, die in Erinnerung bleiben

Es war einmal … ein Urlaubsort mit Geschichte(n)! In Kirchbach im Gailtal taucht ihr direkt ein in die Historie der Region und schreibt jeden Tag eure eigenen, unvergesslichen Urlaubserinnerungen. 

Die bewegte Vergangenheit der charmanten Gemeinde ist auf Schritt und Tritt spürbar – ob auf Wanderungen zu den Gipfeln der Region oder beim gemütlichen Dorfspaziergang. Uralte, pittoreske Bildstücke, liebevoll restaurierte Wassermühlen, der älteste Bauernhof des Landes … Wer mit offenen Augen durch Kirchbach geht, der wird beinahe an jeder Ecke mit beeindruckenden Kulturschätzen belohnt.

Die zweite Hauptrolle spielt in der liebenswerten Urlaubsregion die Natur. Wunderschön gelegen zwischen den Gailtaler und den Karnischen Alpen ist die Marktgemeinde Kirchbach eine der Kärntner Topadressen für Outdoor-Sport und Bergerholung. 

Das Beste daran: Obwohl Kirchbach von A wie Action bis Z wie Zeit (zum Relaxen) alles zu bieten hat, ist die beschauliche Gemeinde auch in der Hochsaison nicht überlaufen. Stichwort: sanfter Tourismus!

Was ihr in Kirchbach nicht verpassen solltet

Die schönsten Sehenswürdigkeiten

Zurück in die Vergangenheit: In Kirchbach führt jede Erkundungstour auf eine Reise in längst vergangene Zeiten. Die Marktgemeinde ist tief in alten Traditionen verwurzelt und versprüht einen liebenswert-urigen Charme. Auf den Almen wird noch nach alter Tradition gekäst, und viele Kulturdenkmäler laden zum Träumen und Zeitreisen ein.

Die Top-Sehenswürdigkeiten rund um Kirchbach: 

  • Pfarrkirche St. Michael 
    Der fünfgeschossige Turm der beeindruckenden Kirche in Grafendorf ist mit seiner barocken Zwiebelbekrönung von Weitem sichtbar.
  • der älteste datierte Bauernhof Kärntens  
    Die Besitzerreihenfolge des „MaroschHofs“ in Treßdorf konnte ganze 600 Jahre zurückverfolgt werden. 
  • Schloss Thurnhof 
    Das gut erhaltene Schloss wurde 1364 erstmals urkundlich erwähnt, heute kann man noch direkt im Schloss übernachten.
So geht Winter in Kärnten!

Kirchbach im Winter

Winterurlaub in Kirchbach ist genau so, wie ihr ihn euch wünscht: ruhig und relaxed für die, die eine Auszeit vom stressigen Alltag suchen. Actionreich und voller Abenteuer für die, die auch im Urlaub so richtig Gas geben wollen.

Noch besser: In Kirchbach im Gailtal muss man sich gar nicht erst für eine der beiden Varianten entscheiden! Warum nicht erst mit den Liebsten die Pisten hinunterwedeln und danach gemütlich drinnen mit einem warmen Getränk und Blick auf die glitzernde Winterlandschaft entspannen?

Was für euch alles vor (oder nach oder statt) dem Relaxen auf dem Programm steht? Eine ganze Menge! Passionierte Langläufer gleiten entlang der Gail von Gundersheim bis Waidegg auf der Obergailtaler Panoramaloipe.

Kufenkönner drehen am Eislaufplatz des Kirchbacher Sportklubs in Oberdöbernitzen ihre Runden. Winterwanderer stapfen über das weitläufige, geräumte Wegenetzwerk von Grafendorf bis Waidegg.

Und Ski- und Snowboard-Fans? Die freuen sich über attraktive Liftpreise und familienfreundliche Pisten im Skigebiet Griminitzen. Die komfortablen Pisten und der charmante Tellerlift sind genau das Richtige für kleine Pistenflitzer und alle, die ihre ersten Bogerl im Schnee ausprobieren möchten. 

Wer genug geübt hat, fährt mit dem Shuttlebus übrigens kostenlos in nur wenigen Minuten zu den schneesicheren Weitpisten der Sun Ski World – und ab geht die Post! 

Einmal erlebt, nie mehr vergessen

Kirchbach im Sommer

Fast schon kitschig ist er, der Bilderbuchsommer in Kirchbach im Gailtal. Jeden Tag ein neues Abenteuer und am Ende ein ganzer Koffer voller Urlaubserinnerungen. Im breiten Sortiment an Sommerschmankerln ist für jeden etwas dabei.

Die einen erkunden die Kärntner Landschaft von hoch oben mit dem Paragleiter, vom Rücken eines Pferdes aus oder im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes ebenerdig beim belebenden Sprung in den Gailfluss oder die Fluten des Freibads Kirchbach. Die anderen schwingen sich in den Sattel ihres Fahrrads und sausen den familienfreundlichen Gailtal Radweg R3 oder eine der anspruchsvollen Mountainbikestrecken entlang.

Wer lieber mit beiden Beinen am Boden bleibt, erhascht auf den zahllosen Wanderwegen zwischen 600 und 2.300 Metern Höhe spektakuläre Ausblicke auf das sommerlich strahlende Kärnten. Wie wäre es zum Beispiel mit einer geführten Wanderng in die Bergwelt der Karnischen,- und Gailtaler Alpen? Oder immer der Nase nach am 30 Kilometer langen, grenzüberschreitenden Käsewanderweg in den Karnischen Alpen?

Und das war noch nicht alles! Verbessert euer Handicap am 18-Loch-Golfplatz in Waidegg, grillt am Naturspielplatz Gailfluss, entdeckt die Wassermühlen in Treßdorf … oder holt euch tausende weiterer Sommerideen in der Summer World!

Köstliches Kirchbach

Kulinarik & Kultur

Ob Tradition oder Moderne – Genuss überschreitet in Kirchbach nicht nur geographische Grenzen, sondern auch Generationen. Denn wo auf den Hütten noch nach alter Tradition Gailtaler Almkäse g.U. hergestellt und original Gailtaler Speck g.g.A. kredenzt wird, ist auch die feine Küche von heute zu Hause.

Zu Erntedank feiert man in Kirchbach ein ganz besonders vielseitiges Obst: den Apfel. Beim alljährlichen Apfelfest dreht sich alles um die runde Vitaminbombe. Von der Schnapsbrennerei über die Mostpresse bis hin zu kulinarischen Köstlichkeiten ist das traditionelle Obst der Star des Tages. 

Und das Apfelfest ist nur eines der vielen traditionellen Events, bei denen man Kirchbach von seiner köstlichsten Seite kennenlernen kann! Bei vielen weiteren Veranstaltungen in und um die liebenswerte Kärntner Gemeinde heißt es: mitfeiern und genießen!

Ihr solltet euren Urlaub in Kirchbach verbringen, wenn …

  • … ihr unmittelbar in die Geschichte des Gailtals eintauchen wollt.
  • … ihr im Urlaub gern direkt vor der Hoteltür in die Langlaufloipe einsteigt.
  • … ihr bei einer Kräuterwanderung die duftenden Schätze Kärntens kennenlernen möchtet.
  • … ihr das traditionelle Apfelfest in Kirchbach nicht verpassen wollt.
  • … ihr die Ursprünge des herrlichen Gailtaler Almkäses g.U. entdecken möchtet.

Finden & buchen

Was möchtest du entdecken?

180304_martinlugger_nassfeld_0046 | © MartinLugger