Gitschtal

Active relaxation surrounded by unspoilt nature

Exciting or relaxing? If you think that these two are mutually exclusive, you have obviously never visited the Carinthian Gitschtal region! After all, action and relaxation go together perfectly in the endearing community in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region.

Work up a sweat during mountain biking and then cool off with a refreshing dip in the water. Hike up impressive summits and then recharge your batteries with a delicious “Brettljause” snack platter at a mountain hut. In Gitschtal, adventures and recreation go hand in hand.

The community is located in the Gitschtal valley, one of Gailtal valley’s side valleys, and is dominated by the 2,300-metre Reißkofel, which offers splendid views of the surrounding Gitschtal area.

Have you ever wondered … what Gitschtal’s coat of arms means? The crossed mining insignia, the hammer and pick, on the lower part of the coat of arms stand for the municipality’s pronounced mining tradition. Between the 13th and 16th century, the region was a popular mining area for gold, silver and iron ore. On a walk through Gösseringgraben, you can still see old relics and read up on useful information on ore processing.

What to see around Gitschtal

The best sights

Gitschtal is a small paradise for nature lovers as well as for fans of arts and culture, offering many opportunities to combine both. For instance, how about a hike to see the most famous churches of the region?

Don’t miss the following sights around Gitschtal:

  • Weissbriach protestant church
    Check out the intricate carvings on the altar of the neo-Gothic hall church.
  • St. Johann zu Weissbriach church
    When St. Johann church was remodelled in a neo-Gothic fashion in the 19th century, a relic capsule was found that had been walled in there since the 15th century.
  • St. Lorenzen catholic church
    The church‘s pretty high altar depicts Saint Lawrence, while on the side altars you can see apostles Peter and Paul.
  • Gitschtal arts & crafts parlour at Weissbriach blacksmith museum
    The small museum offers you charming glances into the region’s artisanal history.
Warmly recommended

Gitschtal in winter

If you are looking for the “real” Carinthia away from the crowds, you might just find it in the wintry Gitschtal region. In the small municipality, time seems to stand still during winter. Or maybe it’s just that time is not measured by clocks but by the rhythm of the dancing snowflakes during this period?

One way or another, it gives you ample time to enjoy winter to the fullest. Whether you spend it swooshing down the slopes, exploring the area on cross-country skis or sledging with your kids. Or you could always just soak up the sun on the terrace of a traditional mountain hut, with a steaming cup of tea in your hands and your gaze firmly set on the miraculous mountain world of Carinthia.

If you have young children, Weissbriach family ski resort is your number-one choice for unforgettable days in the snow, offering three lifts, a professional ski school, convenient ski and snowboard rental facilities and plenty of cosy mountain huts.

In addition, the region boasts numerous activities away from the slopes. For instance, how about cross-country skiing on 40 kilometres of perfectly groomed double trails? Or snowshoeing, winter hiking or dashing down the 3.9-kilometre toboggan run?

 Our winter tip for ice skating fans: The Gitschtal region is only a few minutes drive from Europe’s largest natural ice rink at Lake Weissensee. Sounds quite cool, don’t you think?

On your marks for summer action

Gitschtal in summer

Summer in the Gitschtal region belongs to those who love the great outdoors. After all, the area offers perfect opportunities for cycling and mountain biking. For hiking and mountaineering. For jumping into the lake and splashing about with your family – after all, the Gitschtal region is located right between the perfect swimming lakes of Weissensee and Pressegger See. As you can see, Gitschtal valley offers countless opportunities for perfect summer activities.

If you prefer exploring your holiday region on two wheels, there’s every biker’s dream right on your doorstep. If you’re cycling with the family, we recommend Familienradwanderweg R3b cycle route, which connects right to the 950 kilometres of MTB and cycle routes of the Nassfeld-Pressegger See and Weissensee regions. If you’re looking for a bit of a challenge, the official MTB route up to Möslalm might be just the thing for you.

The Gitschtal area also boasts numerous great tours and trails for hiking and Nordic walking. Whether it’s Gösseringgraben nature trail or the trail up to Kohlrösl hut – the stunning nature of the region is full of breathtaking spots.

Fun tip: Have you heard of mountain farmers’ golf? No? Then a “nice surprise” is already waiting for you in the Gitschtal region! Without giving away too much: You might want to look out for low-flying wellies …!

Relax tip: Even if summer in Gitschtal is full of activities, there are also plenty of opportunities to relax and unwind. For instance, how about a visit to Gitschtal adventure swimming pool or one of the amazing swimming lakes of the World of Mountains & Lakes? For some extra heavenly relaxation, we recommend the healing treatments and therapies at Weissbriach health resort ...

Gitschtal for foodies and pleasure-seekers

Cuisine & culture

The more the merrier: The Gitschtal region is all about celebrating and enjoying good food and drinks together. While sitting around a table at Brunnwirt restaurant, while watching a show of the local “Schuhplattler” dance group or while mingling with the locals at one of the region’s popular events.

Among others, there is the traditional “Kirchtag” celebrations, the crazy Gitschtal carnival, the annual cabbage festival or the – we’re not joking! – Gitschtal cowpat tombola. You wonder what the latter is all about? Well, you’d best find out for yourself – during an unforgettable, surprising and wonderfully unique holiday in the World of Mountains & Lakes!

You should spend your holiday in Gitschtal if …

  • ... you love to explore your holiday destination with your mountain bike.

  • … you want to gamble at the Gitschtal cowpat tombola.

  • … you are looking for a charming family ski resort.

  • … you don’t want to stick to one sport only in summer.

  • … you want to get to know the unrivalled hospitality of the Gitschtal people during one of the local events and festivities.

  • … you want to experience a soothing treatment by the qualified staff at Weissbriach health resort.

Find & book

What do you want to discover?

180304_martinlugger_nassfeld_0046 | © MartinLugger

Gitschtal

Aktiv entspannen in unberührter Natur

Spannend und entspannend: Wer glaubt, dass sich das gegenseitig ausschließt, der war noch nicht im Kärntner Gitschtal! Dort sind Aktivität und Erholung nämlich alles andere als Gegensätze. In der liebenswerten Gegend in der Urlaubsregion Nassfeld-Pressegger See lässt sich beides wunderbar vereinen. 

Sich beim Biken auspowern und danach beim Sprung ins kühle Nass entspannen. Beim Wandern anspruchsvolle Gipfel erklimmen und danach bei einer Brettljause auf der Alm die Energiereserven auffüllen. Im Gitschtal gehen Erlebnis und Entspannung ganz einfach Hand in Hand.

Landschaftlich geprägt ist die Gemeinde im gleichnamigen Seitental des Gailtales vom rund 2.300 Meter hohen Reißkofel, der hoch über allem thront. Von ihm aus eröffnen sich spektakuläre Ausblicke über die prachtvollen Landschaften des Gitschtals. 

Wusstet ihr eigentlich … was das Wappen von Gitschtal bedeutet? Das gekreuzte Bergwerkszeichen, das Bergeisen und der Schlägel auf der vorderen Schildhälfte erinnern an die Bergbauvergangenheit der Gemeinde. Zwischen dem 13. und 16. Jahrhundert wurden in der Gegend nämlich Gold, Silber und Eisenerz abgebaut. Im Gösseringgraben findet man bei Wanderungen noch Relikte aus dieser Zeit sowie kurze Erläuterungen zur Erzverarbeitung.

Was ihr im Gitschtal nicht verpassen solltet

Die schönsten Sehenswürdigkeiten

Gitschtal ist ein kleines Paradies für Kultur- und Naturliebhaber. Beides lässt sich dort optimal miteinander verbinden. Wie wäre es zum Beispiel mit einer kleinen Wanderung zu einer der sehenswerten Kirchen der Gemeinde?

Sehenswürdigkeiten, die man im Gitschtal besucht haben sollte: 

  • Evangelische Kirche Weissbriach 
    Besonders sehenswert ist in der neugotischen Saalkirche der mit Schnitzwerk reichlich verzierte Altar. 
  • Kirche St. Johann zu Weissbriach  
    Als die Kirche St. Johann im 19. Jahrhundert neugotisch eingerichtet wurde, fand man eine Reliquienkapsel, die seit dem 15. Jahrhundert dort eingemauert war.
  • Katholische Kirche St. Lorenzen 
    Der hübsche Hochaltar der Kirche zeigt den heiligen Laurentius sowie in den Seitenbildern die Apostel Petrus und Paulus.
  • Gitschtaler Kunst- & Handwerksstüberl im Schmiedemuseum Weissbriach 
    Mit viel Liebe zum Detail gewährt das kleine Museum Einblicke in die handwerkliche Geschichte des Tales.
Wärmstens empfohlen

Gitschtal im Winter

Wer abseits der Menschenmassen das ursprüngliche Kärnten sucht, der wird im winterlichen Gitschtal fündig. Denn in der kleinen Gemeinde ticken die Uhren in der kalten Jahreszeit ein bisschen anders. Den Takt geben hier nicht Sekunden- oder Minutenzeiger an, sondern die stetig vom Himmel tanzenden Schneeflocken.

Was das für euch und eure Liebsten bedeutet? Jede Menge Zeit, den Winter in vollen Zügen zu genießen. Egal, ob beim Skifahren, Langlaufen oder Rodeln. Oder ganz einfach beim Sonnetanken vor einer urigen Hütte, in der Hand eine dampfende Tasse Tee und im Blick die spektakuläre Kärntner Bergwelt.

Für Schneezwerge und Anfänger bringt besonders das Familienskigebiet Weissbriach alles mit, was es für eine unvergessliche Zeit im Schnee braucht. 

Drei Skilifte, eine professionelle Skischule, Ski- und Snowboardverleih und urige Skihütten – was könnte man sich da noch mehr wünschen?

Zum Beispiel jede Menge weiterer Möglichkeiten, sich im Schnee auszutoben! Und genau das gibt’s im Gitschtal oben drauf: Langlaufen auf mehr als 40 Kilometer gepflegter Doppelspurloipen. Schneeschuhwandern. Winterwandern. Rodeln auf der 3,9 Kilometer langen, beleuchteten Rodelbahn. 

Der Wintertipp für Eislauffans: Vom Gitschtal aus erreicht ihr in nur wenigen Autominuten Europas größte Natureisfläche, den Weissensee. Richtig cool, oder?

Auf die Plätze, fertig, Sommer-Action!

Gitschtal im Sommer

Der Sommer im Gitschtal gehört den Aktiven! Den Bikern und Radlern. Den Wanderern und Bergsteigern. Den In-den-See-Hüpfern und Familienplanschern, liegt doch das Gitschtal in der Mitte zwischen dem badewarmen Weissensee und Pressegger See. Die abwechslungsreiche Gemeinde bietet herrliche Möglichkeiten für sommerliche Outdoor-Aktivitäten!

Wer seine Urlaubsregion am liebsten auf zwei Rädern erkundet, der findet im Gitschtal ein Radelparadies direkt vor der Haustür. Mit den Kleinen geht’s auf den Familienradwanderweg R3b, der direkt an die 950 Kilometer MTB- und Radwege der Regionen Nassfeld-Pressegger See und Weissensee anschließt. Und anspruchsvollere Biker schwingen sich in den Sattel, um die offizielle MTB-Tour auf die Möslalm in Angriff zu nehmen.

Auch zum Wandern und Nordic Walken bietet das Gitschtal unzählige schöne Touren und Wege. Ob am Naturlehrpfad Gösseringgraben oder hinauf zur Kohlröslhütte – Schritt für Schritt erwandert ihr euch hier das pure Urlaubsglück. 

Fun-Tipp: Habt ihr schon mal etwas von Bergbauerngolf gehört? Nein? Dann wartet im Gitschtal schon die nächste lustige „Surprise“ auf euch. Wir sagen nur so viel: Obacht vor tief fliegenden Gummistiefeln!

Relax-Tipp: Auch wenn im Gitschtaler Sommer alle Zeichen auf aktiv stehen, darf die Entspannung natürlich nicht fehlen! Zum Beispiel im charmanten Erlebnis-Freibad Gitschtal oder an einem der vielen herrlichen Badeseen in der belebenden World of Mountains & Lakes! Besonders entspannt wird’s mit den zahlreichen Kur- und Therapieanwendungen des Gesundheitsresorts Weissbriach ...

Genuss im Gitschtal

Kulinarik & Kultur

Speis und Trank und gute Gesellschaft: In Sachen Genuss steht im Gitschtal das gemeinsame Gustieren, Schlemmen und Feiern im Vordergrund. Ob beim gemütlichen Zusammensitzen beim Brunnwirt. Bei einer urigen Vorführung der örtlichen Schuhplattler-Truppe. Oder bei einer der zahlreichen Veranstaltungen, für die die Gemeinde bekannt ist.

Da wären zum Beispiel die traditionellen Kirchtage. Der närrische Gitschtaler Fasching. Das alljährliche Krautfest. Oder – ja, ihr lest richtig – die Gitschtaler Kuhfladentombola! Worum es dabei genau geht? Das findet ihr am besten selbst heraus – bei einem unvergesslichen, überraschenden und ganz und gar einzigartigen Urlaub in Kärnten.

Ihr solltet euren Urlaub im Gitschtal verbringen, wenn …

  • ... ihr im Urlaub am liebsten mit dem Mountainbike unterwegs seid.
  • … ihr Glücksspiel mal anders bei der Gitschtaler Kuhfladentombola ausprobieren möchtet. 
  • … ihr auf der Suche nach einem charmanten Familienskigebiet seid.
  •  … euch im Sommer eine einzige Sportart nicht genug ist.
  • … ihr die Gitschtaler Gastfreundschaft beim Feiern und Genießen kennenlernen wollt. 
  • … ihr die heilenden Hände im Gesundheitsresort Weissbriach genießen wollt.

Finden & buchen

Was möchtest du entdecken?