Gliding over natural ice as smooth as glass

Ice skating in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region

Lake Presseggersee is surrounded by mountains, forests and meadows and seamed with Austria’s second biggest reed belt. And once you’ve explored the slopes of the region, you can continue all the fun by discovering the other winter sports offers at the Nassfeld ski resort. Two sharpened skate blades, gloves and a good sense of balance – that’s all you need for your adventures on natural ice!

A seasonal chameleon: Lake Pressegger see

In summer, Lake Pressegger See – with its 28-degrees water temperature – attracts countless swimming enthusiasts. In winter, it’s covered with a thick layer of ice. Because of its three-metre-tall reeds and the numerous species of fish that inhabit the lake, it’s known for being one of Carinthia’s natural treasures. In particularly cold winters, Lake Pressegger See completely freezes over and thus becomes an Eldorado for ice skaters.

A total of 55 hectares of natural ice are the perfect location for winter guests to leisurely glide along, race each other, and practice their pirouettes. Ice skaters will truly find an ice paradise out on Lake Pressegger See.

Facts and figures about the ice-skating paradise of Lake Pressegger See:

  • 55 hectares of natural ice
  • a unique flora and fauna
  • a groomed 2.5-kilometre circular skating track
  • ice skate rental and changing facilities at Strandbad Hermagor
  • several ice-skating rinks
  • option of going on a hike along the shoreline (Slow Trail)

Ice skating on Lake Weissensee

Almost like clockwock, the 6.5-square-kilometre Lake Weissensee in Carinthia freezes over right around 25 November. Starting at the smaller western end, it’s completely covered in a 40-centrimetre layer of ice by mid-December. And then it won’t be long before the first ice skaters show up …

What’s more, ice skaters and holiday guests can skate along several circular tracks from four to 25 kilometres in length.

You’d like to find out more about the ice Eldorado of Lake Weissensee? Go ahead!

An ice sport with a long-standing tradition: ice stock

On asphalt in summer or on ice as smooth as glass in winter: The ice stock sport – also known as Alpine curling – enjoys great popularity in Carinthia. Especially when temperatures drop below zero, many ice stock enthusiasts have only one goal: Manoeuvring the cone-shaped ice stocks over the ice to hit a small wooden target called “Daube” in German. 

Contact & information

Ice climbing in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region

First, you kick your crampons into the frozen wall in front of you, and then you swing the axe into the ice above your head. It’s amazing how just a few centimetres-deep is enough to pull yourself up on! Equipped with crampons, an axe and a helmet, you can scale the vertical ice wall. Guided ice climbing tours are offered both at the Vorderberger Klamm and at the Kötschach-Mauthen ice tower.

Contact & information

Harald Assinger
Phone: +43 (0)4283 2107 or +43 (0)664 1195 88
Registration required!

You’ve already explored the ice, and now you’re ready for other adventures in the Outdoor & Relax World?

Find & book

What do you want to discover?

180304_martinlugger_nassfeld_0046 | © MartinLugger

Auf spiegelglatten Natureisflächen gleiten

Eislaufen in der Region Nassfeld-Pressegger See

Inmitten von Bergen, Wäldern und Wiesen und umrahmt vom zweitgrößten Schilfgürtel Österreichs liegt der Pressegger See. Sind die Pisten erst einmal erkundet, kann es abseits des Skigebiets Nassfeld mit dem Wintersportangebot weitergehen. Zwei Paar scharf geschliffene Kufen, Handschuhe und eine Portion Gleichgewicht – und schon beginnt die Partie auf der spiegelglatten Natureisfläche! 

Ein Jahreszeiten-Chamäleon: der Pressegger See

Im Sommer lockt der Pressegger See mit seinen 28 Grad Wassertemperatur zahlreiche Badefreudige an, im Winter bedeckt ihn eine dicke Eisschicht. Durch das bis zu drei Meter hohe Schilf und die unzähligen Fischarten wird der See zu Recht als Naturjuwel Kärntens bezeichnet. In besonders kalten Wintern friert der Pressegger See komplett zu und offenbart ein wahres Eldorado für Genusseisläufer. 

Sage und schreibe 55 Hektar Natureisfläche stehen den Wintergästen zum Gleiten, Toben und um die Wette fahren zur Verfügung. Jene Eisläufer, die gerne genussvoll Rundbahnen ziehen, haben am Pressegger See ihr Eisparadies gefunden. 

Daten und Fakten zum Eislaufparadies Pressegger See

  • 55 Hektar reinste Natureisfläche
  • einzigartige Flora und Fauna 
  • 2,5 km lange, präparierte Rundbahn
  • Schlittschuhverleih und Umkleidemöglichkeit im Strandbad Hermagor
  • mehrere Eislaufplätze
  • Möglichkeit für eine Rundwanderung um den See (Slow Trail)

Eislaufen am Weissensee

Pünktlich wie ein Schweizer Uhrwerk friert der 6,5 Quadratkilometer große Weissensee in Kärnten rund um den 25. November zu. Beginnend beim kleinen Westteil ist er bis Mitte Dezember vollkommen mit einer bis zu 40 Zentimeter dicken Eisschicht überzogen. Da lassen die Eissportler dann nicht mehr lange auf sich warten.

Zudem erwarten Eisläufer und Urlaubsgäste Eislauf-Rundbahnen von vier bis zu 25 Kilometen.

Ihr wollt euch detaillierter über das Eis-Eldorado am Weissensee informieren?

Eine Eissportart mit Tradition: Eisstockschießen

Ob im Sommer auf Asphalt oder im Winter auf spiegelglatten Eisflächen: Eisstock schießen erfreut sich in Kärnten großer Beliebtheit. Besonders wenn die Temperaturen in die Minusgrade sinken, gibt es für viele Eisstockfans nur ein Ziel: Die kegelförmigen Eisstöcke über das Eis zu manövrieren, um die Daube zu treffen.

Kontakt & Information 

Klettern im Eis in der Region Nassfeld-Pressegger See

Ab ins Eis und die Pickel kräftig ins gefrorene Wasser klopfen. Nur wenige Zentimeter im Eis reichen aus, und das Kletterwerkzeug trägt das gesamte Körpergewicht. Unglaublich, aber wahr! Mithilfe von Steigeisen und ausgestattet mit Helm geht es die Eiswand hinauf. Geführte Eiskletter-Touren werden in der Vorderberger Klamm sowie im Eisturm Kötschach-Mauthen angeboten. 

Kontakt & Information
Harald Assinger
Tel. +43 (0)4283 2107 oder +43 (0)664 1195 88
Anmeldung erforderlich!

Das Eis habt ihr bereits erkundet und ihr seid bereit für mehr Abenteuer in der Outdoor & Relax World?

Finden & buchen

Was möchtest du entdecken?

180304_martinlugger_nassfeld_0046 | © MartinLugger