Things to see and do in Carinthia with children

Excursion tips for families

Why travel far when you have it all on your doorstep? After all, the World of Mountains & Lakes truly is your oyster. Summer or winter, the small town of Hermagor, Gitschtal valley or Lake Weissensee: There are more than enough options for every day of your holiday.

However, sometimes you simply want to “expand your horizon”, wouldn’t you say? And our excursion tips are just the perfect opportunity to do so. Whether it’s as an alternative to skiing in winter or as a change from hiking in summer – the great excursion destinations around the Nassfeld area are always worth a visit.

Our tip: Why not use one of the region’s many public transport options to get to your excursion destination all hassle-free and without having to look for a parking space? After all, the regional busses are free of charge with the +CARD holiday and the GästeCard Basic!

Your “adventure farm” in Kirchbach

GailtålBauer farm

You always wanted to know about life on a farm? Then you and your children should take a look behind the scenes of the GailtålBauer farm and find out what happens there.

Where does our milk come from? How is cheese made? How do the happy animals live in their five-star stables? Find out all of this and more during exciting guided tours and in the interesting showrooms!

The best thing about it: You can stock up on delicious bacon, cheese and other products from the lovely Gailtåler MundÅrt range for your next snack stop at the farmer’s shop. Of course, you can also sample the scrumptious treats right at the GailtålBauer-Einkehr while your little ones are having fun at the playground or at the petting zoo …

Two-wheeled excursion to Villach

Gailtal Radweg cycle route

In the mood for a little shopping spree in Villach? Then how about combining it with a bit of exercise and embarking on a nice spring, summer or autumn ride on the Gailtal Radweg R3 bicycle route? The family-friendly cycle path takes you along the Gail river from Kötschach-Mauthen to Villach.

If you need a little breather on the way, you can stop by at one of the many cosy restaurants and inns along the route and fuel up on cool drinks and irresistible Carinthian delicacies there.

Your shopping spree has resulted in too many bags to take home on your bike? Don’t worry! The region’s excellent public transport options will take you as well as your bike and bags back to your hotel.

Adventure awaits

Carinthia’s first adventure park

Lake Presseggersee is not just one of Carinthia’s warmest swimming lakes. It’s also well worth a visit when it’s too cold for swimming.

After all, Lake Presseggersee is your go-to place for relaxation as well as action – thanks to Carinthia’s first adventure park, which offers fun and games for the young and young-at-heart.

Whether it’s a ride on the “Nautic Jet”, the “Comet” or the “Luna Loop” – the adventure park is full of thrills and spills. If you need a break from all the action, there are also plenty of less adrenaline-fuelled pastimes to be found there. For instance, try the excavator simulators, the balance bikes, the Sky Dive … or simply take a nice break at the Lake Tavern.

Good to know: Carinthia’s first adventure park is also perfectly suitable for smaller kids, offering age-appropriate attractions from bouncy castles to pedal-powered rail bikes. Also don’t miss the great discounts you get there with the +CARD holiday!

Treasure hunt in the petrified forest

Carnic Alps GeoPark

Thundering waterfalls, serene mountain lakes and impressive ravines – there’s something new to discover behind every corner at Carnic Alps GeoPark. Learn about the formation of the Alps and experience geology first-hand at more than 70 stages between Feistritz/Gail and Maria Luggau im Lesachtal.

Embark on a journey to eras long past along the signposted geo trails and discover stones and fossilised animals and plants that are more than a hundred million years old. The big highlight for the little ones: the exciting treasure hunt in the petrified forest!

Good to know: Even when the Carinthian sun is not shining for a change, the visitors’ centre in Dellach is still worth a visit, especially thanks to the many benefits you get with the +CARD holiday. Among other activities, you and your kids can touch fossils, watch interesting films and explore interactive elements at the visitors’ centre.

The heart of the mountains

Terra Mystica show mine

The 1,300-kilometre tunnel system inside Bad Bleiberg’s Erzberg mountain is a sight to behold – and not just for kids! With the +CARD holiday, exploring the fascinating Terra Mystica show mine  is even more fun. Swoosh down Europe’s longest miner’s slide, ride on the mining car, discover the mine shaft elevator … there’s plenty to see and do underground!

Adventure tip: The thrilling treasure hunt is a highlight for young explorers. Equipped with a torch, adventure-loving kids can go looking for mystic semi-precious stones – and even take their finds back home.

Ciao bella!

A visit to Italy

The proximity to Austria’s neighbouring country of Italy adds an air of “dolce vita” and some great excursion ideas to the World of Mountains & Lakes. For instance, how about a shopping trip to Tarvisio in spring? A short swimming trip to one of the Adriatic beaches in summer? Or a leisurely stroll through the narrow lanes of Udine in autumn? If you spend your holidays in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region, all of this is easy to do.

Especially in winter, it can be nice to get a quick dose of “summer holiday feeling” during a visit to Italy – even if it’s just for grabbing a quick pizza or a glass of Aperol …

Talking about winter: Our activities for bad weather days are sure to brighten up even the coldest winter days or a rainy day in summer! 

What do you want to discover?

180304_martinlugger_nassfeld_0046 | © MartinLugger

Kärntens schönste Ausflugsziele mit Kindern

Ausflugstipps für Familien

Warum in die Ferne schweifen, wenn das Gute liegt so nah? Diese alte Weisheit trifft in der World of Mountains & Lakes definitiv zu. Denn ganz gleich, ob im Sommer oder im Winter, ob Hermagor, Gitschtal oder Weissensee: Eure Urlaubsdestination bietet garantiert genug spannende Möglichkeiten für jeden Tag.

Aber manchmal möchte man einfach ein bisschen über den Tellerrand hinausschauen, findet ihr nicht? Und genau dazu eignen sich unsere Familien-Ausflugstipps perfekt! Ob als Abwechslung von der Piste oder vom Wandern: Bei den tollen Ausflugszielen rund ums Nassfeld packt man gern mal Kind und Kegel für eine Fahrt ins Blaue ein.

Tipp: Stressfrei und ohne lästige Parkplatzsuche gelangt ihr mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln an euer Ausflugsziel. Und psssst: Die regionalen Linienbusse nutzt ihr mit der +CARD holiday oder der GästeCard Basic sogar gratis!

Der „Erleb-was-Bauernhof“ in Kirchbach

GailtålBauer

Ihr wolltet schon immer wissen, wie es auf so einem Bauernhof genau zugeht? Dann solltet ihr mit euren Kindern die Chance nutzen, hinter die Kulissen des GailtålBauern zu blicken! Denn dort erfahrt ihr aus erster Hand alles über das Leben in so einem Betrieb.  

Woher kommt die Milch? Wie macht man Käse? Wie leben die glücklichen Tiere im Fünf-Sterne-Stall? All das und mehr entdeckt ihr bei spannenden Führungen und in informativen Schauräumen. 

Und das Beste daran? Die köstlichen Gailtåler MundÅrt-Produkte vom Speck bis zum Käse könnt ihr euch am Schluss im Bauernladen gleich für die nächste Jause einpacken. Oder direkt in der GailtålBauer-Einkehr genießen, während eure Kids sich im Streichelzoo oder am Spielplatz vergnügen …

Auf zwei Rädern bis nach Villach

Gailtal Radweg

Lust auf einen Shopping-Trip nach Villach? Dann macht im Frühling, Sommer oder Herbst doch eine sportliche Tour aus eurem Ausflug und radelt am Gailtal Radweg R3 zum Einkaufen! Der familienfreundliche Radweg führt entlang der Gail von Kötschach-Mauthen bis nach Villach.

Damit euch auf dem Weg nicht die Puste ausgeht, locken zahlreiche gemütliche Einkehrmöglichkeiten entlang der Strecke mit kühlen Getränken und verführerischen Kärntner Schmankerln. 

Ihr seid nach dem Shoppen in Villach voll beladen? Macht nichts! Die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel bringen euch samt Rad und Einkaufstüten bequem wieder zu eurer Unterkunft.

Mit Vollgas ins Erlebnis

1. Kärntner Erlebnispark

Der Pressegger See ist nicht nur einer der wärmsten Badeseen Kärntens. Auch wenn das Thermometer mal keine Badetemperaturen anzeigt, ist das funkelnde Gewässer definitiv einen Abstecher wert!

Denn neben entspanntem Badespaß findet ihr am Pressegger See noch etwas anderes: jede Menge Action im 1. Kärntner Erlebnispark! Dort bietet sich für kleine und größere Kids ein wahres Spiel- und Spaßparadies. 

Ob ein Jump mit dem Nautic Jet, ein Ritt auf dem Kometen oder eine Fahrt mit dem Luna Loop – im Erlebnispark wird es eines ganz sicher nicht: fad. Aber auch für alle, die es etwas weniger actionreich mögen, ist an den Ufern des Pressegger Sees gesorgt. Bagger-Simulatoren, Wackelräder, Sky Dive … oder ganz einfach entspanntes Genießen in der Seetaverne.

Gut zu wissen: Auch die Kleinsten haben im 1. Kärntner Erlebnispark ihren Spaß. Dafür sorgen tolle Kleinkinderangebote von der Hüpfburg bis zum Schienen-Tretauto. Mit der +CARD holiday gibt’s außerdem weitere tolle Vorteile …

Schatzsuche im versteinerten Wald

GeoPark Karnische Alpen

Tosende Wasserfälle, stille Bergseen und beeindruckende Klammen – im GeoPark Karnische Alpen gibt es auf Schritt und Tritt etwas zu entdecken. An über 70 Schauplätzen zwischen Feistritz/Gail und Maria Luggau im Lesachtal könnt ihr euch auf die Spuren der Entstehung der Alpen begeben und Geologie hautnah erleben.

Unternehmt auf den ausgeschilderten Geotrails eine Reise in die Vergangenheit und entdeckt hunderte Millionen Jahre alte Gesteine und versteinerte Tiere und Pflanzen. Besonders für die Kleinen zu empfehlen: die lustige Schatzsuche im versteinerten Wald!

Gut zu wissen: Auch wenn die Sonne mal nicht vom Kärntner Himmel lacht, lassen sich spannende Stunden im Besucherzentrum in Dellach verbringen – und das mit der +CARD holiday mit vielen Vorteilen. Unter anderem warten im Besucherzentrum greifbare Fossilien, informative Filmvorführungen und viele interaktive Elemente auf euch und eure Kids!

Ins Innerste der Berge

Schaubergwerk Terra Mystica

Glück auf! Das 1.300 Kilometer lange Stollensystem des Bad Bleiberger Erzberges ist nicht nur für Kinder ein echtes Erlebnis – und besonders mit der +CARD holiday einen Besuch wert. Das faszinierende Schaubergwerk Terra Mystica mit Europas längster Bergmannsrutsche ist von der Grubenbahnfahrt bis zum Schachtaufzug ein einziges großes Highlight.

Abenteuer-Tipp: „Forscher vor!“ heißt es bei der spannenden Schatzsuche. Ausgerüstet mit Taschenlampen dürfen sich kleine Abenteurer auf die Suche nach mystischen Halbedelsteinen machen – und ihre Schätze natürlich auch mit nach Hause nehmen.

Ciao bella!

Abstecher nach Italien

Die Nähe zum Nachbarland Italien sorgt in der World of Mountains & Lakes nicht nur für einen Hauch mediterranen Lebensgefühls, sondern auch für ein zusätzliches Ausflugshighlight. Im Frühling ein Shopping-Trip nach Tarvis? Im Sommer ein kurzer Bade-Abstecher an die Adria? Im Herbst ein Bummel durch die Altstadt von Udine? Während eines Urlaubs im Lebensraum Nassfeld-Pressegger See ist all das ganz leicht möglich! 

Und auch – oder gerade! – im Winter tut es manchmal gut, sich eine kleine Dosis Sommerurlaubs-Feeling in Italien zu holen. Und sei es nur bei einer original italienischen Pizza oder einem Gläschen Aperol beim mediterranen Nachbarn …

Apropos Winter: Während der kalten Jahreszeit oder an sommerlichen Regentagen wird es euch und euren Liebsten mit unseren Schlechtwettertipps bestimmt trotzdem warm ums Herz!

Was möchtest du entdecken?

180304_martinlugger_nassfeld_0046 | © MartinLugger