Hike World
Carnic Alps. Gailtal Alps. Julian Alps.

Hiking the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region

Unlimited. Climbing. Bliss.

Austria or Italy? A hiking holiday in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region combines the best of both countries. After all, the expansive and diverse Hike World stretches all the way from the Carnic Alps to the Gailtal Alps and the Julian Alps. Charming contrasts and surprising variety can be found wherever you look. Alpine mountain air seasoned with Mediterranean flair: There are a seemingly unlimited amount of experiences in nature and moments of pleasure in the World of Mountains & Lakes.

While hiking on the sunny side of the Alps, you’ll follow in the tracks of days long past. Themed trails lead you across the former bottom of the ocean and give you insights into the early periods of earth’s history. Leisurely walks in the mountains take you to quaint huts where cheese is made. And if you succeed in climbing one of the summits, you’ll be rewarded with outstanding scenic views of the surrounding mountains.

What else awaits you? Loop trails around comfortably warm lakes that let you rediscover what it means to slow down. Sunrise hikes that let every mountain enthusiast experience a feeling of becoming and expansion. And in contrast to that, climbing routes for guaranteed adrenaline rushes.

Now there’s only one thing missing for sheer bliss: the free +CARD holiday. From the ascent by summer cable car or lift to admission to the various bathing lidos at Lake Pressegger See – these and more than 30 other included services and benefits are truly “nice surprises”, don’t you think? What’s more, the +CARD holiday is your ticket to guided themed hikes and an adventure-filled programme of activities.

The right terrain for every type of hiker: Find a suitable tour for your requirements on our interactive route map!

The Hike World at a glance

  • 1,000 kilometres of hiking trails

  • hikes between 600 m and 2,800 m above sea level

  • cross-border routes all the way to the Italian “Val Canale”

  • 2 multi-stage hikes: Carnic Peace Trail and Gailtal Valley High Route

  • 2 pilgrimage routes: Maria Pilgrimage Trail and “Weg des Buches” Trail

  • 2 summiteer villages: Mauthen and Lesachtal Valley

  • Slow Trail at Lake Presseggersee through Austria’s second-biggest reed belt

  • 25 themed trails and beautiful mountain lakes

  • Geo-Trails at the Carnic Alps GeoPark

  • via ferratas and climbing routes

  • 2 summer lifts and 1 cable car in the Nassfeld region and another one at Lake Weissensee

  • 85 Alpine pastures on Austrian and Italian territory along the Carnic Milky Way

"Surprisingly …"

Following set routes

A variety of family-friendly themed trails leads you to exceptional experiences throughout the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region. Its highlight for hikers of every age: the Carnic Milky Way – full of special moments in the mountains between pastures, huts and star constellations. Learning about old traditions, experiencing hospitality, getting a feel for the region’s history: All this is waiting for you during a visit to the Carnic Alpine Villages and the countless rustic mountain huts.

 

You would like to know who used to live in Gailtal Valley more than 290 million years ago? At the Carnic Alps GeoPark, you can go on an exciting journey through earth’s history – and not just at the exhibition titled “The Dinosaurs of Gailtal Valley” …

On the various Geo-Trails, you can discover fossils and learn about the origin of the mountain lakes. You can also take a walk across the bottom of the primordial ocean or enjoy breathtaking scenic views during a mountain tour. Footpaths along comfortably warm lakes invite you to slow down and relax.

Impressive sunrise hikes let you experience unforgettable moments of awe. Special natural treasures wherever you look – that’s exactly what you’ll find in the Carnic Alps GeoPark.

The grandeur of the mountains

Sometimes it doesn’t take much to experience pure bliss. Soaking up the sun on a summit and enjoying the stunning scenic views. Watching some marmots from not too far away. Keeping an eye on the Alpine choughs as the wind carries them along. Just sitting there – completely at peace and one with nature. There are plenty of options for feeling the power of the mountains besides while hiking.

New routes following in traditional tracks

Slowing down, reflection, and enjoyment – those are the topics that become increasingly important in these fast-paced times we live in. Taking deep breaths on easy routes, relaxing and winding down: Everyone who needs to take some time for themselves and give their body and mind a break will find many opportunities to do so in the World of Mountains & Lakes.

How about a walk on Austria’s first Slow Trail in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region? Or a star constellation hike along the Carnic Milky Way? Daredevils might even discover the meditative potential of jumping into a crystal-clear mountain lake. What rounds off the experience is a visit to one of the 85 alpine pastures and mountain huts of the Culinary World in Austria and Italy.

Proving your power in the mountains

You love a good challenge, and summit conquests are an essential part of every great hike for you? In the Hike World, there are several summits only waiting to be conquered by you. What’s more, several challenging multi-stage hikes have their starting point in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region. Multi-day tours to the neighbouring countries of Italy and Slovenia require persistence, concentration and a certain level of endurance. Especially popular: the Carnic Peace Trail – organised day tours or multi-day tours can be conveniently and easily booked online!

Hiking is great but you’re aiming even higher? In the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region, there are numerous via ferratas and climbing routes for beginners and pros. Most of the routes and some of the best routes can be found in Upper Gailtal Valley and in Lesachtal Valley, Europe’s most untouched valley. That’s where you get to feel the bare rock underneath your fingertips on the region’s most beautiful via ferratas.

Tip: Climbing high above the waters of Lake Weissensee is a truly special experience for alpinists and climbing enthusiasts!

The must-sees of the Hike World

  • Carnic Peace Trail
    On approximately 150 kilometres, this famous multi-stage hiking route leads you along the mountain ridge of the Carnic Alps and thus along the country border of Austria and Italy.

  • Gailtal Valley High Route
    90 kilometres, 10 summits: The Gailtal Valley High Route is a true secret tip among hikers and known for its natural and scenic beauty.

  • Carnic Milky Way
    Between pastures, huts and star constellations, this special themed trail takes you on a hike like you’ve never experienced before.

  • Aqua Trail
    On the 1.5-kilometre adventure trail (suitable for baby buggies and prams), everything revolves around the element of water.

Tip: You’d rather not admire the beauty of the Carnic Alps all by yourself? You don’t have to! On numerous guided hikes, you’ll have the opportunity to explore Carinthia’s most stunning locations accompanied by professional guides and like-minded hiking enthusiasts.

Find & book

Services for even more hiking joy

Hikers’ bus

The World of Mountains & Lakes stretches from Gailtal Valley to Lesachtal Valley and from Lake Weissensee via Tarvisio all the way to the Julian Alps. What’s the best and most comfortable way to get to the starting point of even far-away routes? The bus or train! Did you know that all hourly bus connections can be used for free by holders of the +CARD holiday or the GuestCard Basic?

Another tip: Right in the Nassfeld region, the Piccolo Express takes you from one mountain attraction to the next – more specifically, from Tressdorfer Alm via Sonnalpe Nassfeld to Gartnerkofel lift station and back. What’s more, you can book an individual shuttle service.

Summer cable cars & lifts

Three summer cable cars and lifts bring you one step closer to mountain joy in the Nassfeld region – regardless of whether you’re planning to do some outdoor sports or not. Hop into the cable car or onto the lift, and up you go onto the mountain! Besides the starting points of many hiking routes, you can also look forward to breathtaking scenic views.

By the way: If you’d like to explore the mountains at neighbouring Lake Weissensee, you can take the summer lift onto Naggler Alm.

Don’t miss out on visiting the Hike World, if …

  • … you want to explore the sunny side of the Alps while hiking.

  • … you’re looking for a hiking region that combines summit joy with relaxation by the lake.

  • … you’re longing for diverse moments of pleasure – from culinary to scenic.

  • … you can’t wait to experience the mountains vertically while climbing.

  • … you’d like to benefit from all the advantages that come with the +CARD holiday.

What do you want to discover?

180304_martinlugger_nassfeld_0046 | © MartinLugger

Hike World
Karnische Alpen. Gailtaler Alpen. Julische Alpen.

Wandern in der Region Nassfeld-Pressegger See

Grenzenlos. Spuren. Glück.

Österreich oder Italien? Ein Wanderurlaub im Lebensraum Nassfeld-Pressegger See verspricht von beidem nur das Beste. Schließlich erstreckt sich die abwechslungsreiche Hike World von den Karnischen bis in die Gailtaler und Julischen Alpen hinein. Charmante Kontraste und überraschende Vielfalt sind da vorprogrammiert. Alpine Bergluft, gewürzt mit mediterranem Flair: Das Natur- und Genusserlebnis in der World of Mountains & Lakes ist grenzenlos

Beim Wandern auf der Sonnenseite der Alpen folgt ihr den Spuren längst vergangener Zeiten. Themenwege über ehemaligen Meeresboden geben Einblicke in frühere Epochen der Erdgeschichte. Gemütliche Bergspaziergänge führen zu historischen Käsealmen. Wer zu Gipfeln aufbricht, wird mit einem imposanten Panorama belohnt.

Was euch sonst noch erwartet? Rundwege um badewarme Seen, bei denen ihr die Langsamkeit wiederentdeckt. Sonnenaufgangswanderungen, die jeden Bergfreund das einmalige Gefühl des Werdens spüren lassen. Und Klettertouren, die im Gegensatz dazu für Adrenalinschübe sorgen. 

Was euch jetzt zum vollkommenen Glück noch fehlt, ist die kostenlose +CARD holiday. Von der Fahrt mit den Sommer-Bergbahnen bis hin zum Eintritt in die Strandbäder am Pressegger See – diese und mehr als 30 weitere Inklusiv- und Vorteilsleistungen sind ein überzeugendes Argument, findet ihr nicht? Außerdem ist die +CARD holiday euer Ticket zu betreuten Themenwanderungen und Erlebnisprogrammen. 

Für jeden der passende „Boden unter den Füßen“: Die perfekte Tour für eure Anforderungen findet ihr im interaktiven Tourenguide

Die Hike World im Überblick

Überraschend ...

Den festgelegten Pfaden folgen

Eine Vielfalt an familienfreundlichen Themenwegen lädt überall in der Wanderregion Nassfeld-Pressegger See zu außergewöhnlichen Erlebnissen ein:

Die Karnische Milchstraße ist dabei ganz klar das Highlight für Jung und Alt – und verspricht besondere Bergmomente zwischen Käsealmen und Sternbildern. Traditionen pflegen, Gastfreundschaft erleben, Geschichte spüren: All das erwartet euch auch bei einem Besuch der Karnischen Almdörfer und der vielen urigen Almhütten

Ihr möchtet wissen, wer das Gailtal vor 290 Millionen Jahren bewohnte? Im GeoPark Karnische Alpen seid ihr spannender Erdgeschichte auf der Spur – nicht nur in der Ausstellung „Die Saurier des Gailtals“ … 

Auf den Geotrails könnt ihr Fossilien entdecken und dem Ursprung der Gebirgsseen auf den Grund gehen. Wer möchte, wandert auf ehemaligem Meeresboden oder genießt bei seinen Bergtouren fantastische Weitblicke.

Spazierwege entlang badewarmer Seen laden zur Entschleunigung ein. Eindrucksvolle Sonnenaufgangswanderungen versprechen unvergessliche Wow-Momente. Besondere Naturschätze, wohin man schaut – genau die findet ihr im GeoPark Karnische Alpen. 

Der erhabenen Welt ganz nah

Manchmal braucht es gar nicht viel für das ganz große Glück. Auf dem Gipfel in der Sonne liegen und den herrlichen Panoramablick genießen. Murmeltiere erspähen und nicht mehr aus den Augen lassen. Die Alpendohlen beobachten, wie sie sanft im Wind treiben. Einfach nur dasitzen, ganz bei sich und mit der umliegenden Natur im Einklang sein. Es gibt so viele Möglichkeiten, die Berge auch abseits der Wanderwege zu spüren

Auf traditionellen Spuren neu orientieren

Entschleunigung, Besinnung und Genuss sind Themen, die als Ausgleich zum stressigen Alltag immer wichtiger werden. Auf leichten Touren tief ein- und ausatmen, entspannen und zur Ruhe kommen: Jeder, der nach neuer Orientierung sucht, nach einer Auszeit für Körper und Geist, wird sie in der World of Mountains & Lakes finden. 

Wie wäre es mit einem Spaziergang auf dem ersten Slow Trail der Region Nassfeld-Pressegger See? Oder mit einer Sternbildwanderung entlang der Karnischen Milchstraße? Für Wagemutige hat bestimmt auch ein Sprung in klare Bergseen etwas Meditatives. Die insgesamt 85 bewirtschafteten Hütten und Almen der Culinary World runden den wohltuenden Wandergenuss in Österreich und Italien ab. 

Die Kraft in den Bergen unter Beweis stellen

Ihr liebt die Herausforderung und der Gipfelsieg gehört für euch zum Wandern einfach dazu? In der Hike World warten gleich mehrere Bergspitzen darauf, von euch erklommen zu werden. Zudem starten in der Erlebnisregion Nassfeld-Pressegger See anspruchsvolle Weitwanderungen. Auf mehrtägigen Touren ins benachbarte Italien oder Slowenien sind Ausdauer, Kondition und Konzentration gefragt. Besonders beliebt: der Karnische Höhenweg – hier sind organisierte Tages- und Mehrtagestouren ganz bequem und einfach online buchbar.

Wandern, gut und schön, aber ihr wollt richtig hoch hinaus? Im Lebensraum Nassfeld-Pressegger See warten zahlreiche Klettertouren und Klettersteige auf Einsteiger und Profis. Die meisten und besten Routen befinden sich im Oberen Gailtal sowie im Lesachtal, dem naturbelassensten Tal Europas. Dort könnt ihr auf den schönsten Klettersteigen der Region rauen Fels unter den Fingern spüren. 

Tipp: Klettern direkt über dem Wasser des Weissensees beschert Bergfexen unvergessliche Wow-Momente! 

Die Must-sees der Hike World

  • Karnischer Höhenweg 
    Auf rund 150 Kilometern führt der berühmte Weitwanderweg am Kamm der Karnischen Alpen an der Staatsgrenze zwischen Österreich und Italien entlang.
  • Gailtaler Höhenweg
    90 Kilometer, 10 Gipfel: Der Gailtaler Höhenweg ist der Geheimtipp in Sachen Naturschönheit.
  • Karnische Milchstraße
    Zwischen Käsealmen und Sternbildern verspricht dieser besondere Themenweg Wandern in einer neuen Dimension.
  • Aqua Trail
    Am 1,5 Kilometer langen, kinderwagengerechten Erlebnisweg dreht sich alles um das nasse Element.

Tipp: Ihr habt keine Lust, die Schönheiten der Karnischen Alpen allein zu bestaunen? Müsst ihr auch nicht! Bei zahlreichen geführten Touren habt ihr die Gelegenheit, die Logenplätze Kärntens gemeinsam mit professionellen Guides und gleichgesinnten Wander-Fans zu erkunden.

Finden & buchen

SERVICE FÜR NOCH MEHR WANDERGLÜCK

Wanderbus

Die World of Mountains & Lakes erstreckt sich vom Gailtal bis ins Lesachtal und vom Weissensee über Tarvisio bis in die Julischen Alpen. Wie Wanderer die Ausgangspunkte selbst weit entfernter Touren am besten erreichen? Ganz bequem per Bus oder Bahn! Wusstet ihr, dass der gesamte Bus-Linienverkehr im Stundentakt für alle Besitzer der +CARD holiday oder GästeCard Basic kostenlos ist? 

Weiterer Tipp: Direkt am Nassfeld geht es mit dem Piccolo-Express von einem Bergerlebnis zum nächsten – genauer von der Tressdorfer Alm über die Sonnenalpe Nassfeld bis zur Gartnerkofel Sesselbahn und wieder zurück. Darüber hinaus können individuelle Transfers gebucht werden.

SOMMER-BERGBAHNEN

Drei Sommer-Bergbahnen bringen euch am Nassfeld eurem Bergvergnügen ein großes Stück näher – unabhängig davon, ob ihr sportlich aktiv sein wollt oder nicht. Rein in die Bergbahn, rauf auf den Gipfel! Neben den Startpunkten unzähliger Touren erwarten euch hier atemberaubende Ausblicke.

Übrigens: Wer am benachbarten Weissensee die Berge bequem erkunden möchte, der benützt die Sommer-Bergbahn auf die Naggler Alm.  

Ihr solltet die Hike World auf keinen Fall verpassen, wenn …

  • … ihr die Sonnenseite der Alpen wandernd erkunden möchtet.
  • … ihr nach einer Wanderregion sucht, die Gipfel- und See-Erlebnisse ideal vereint. 
  • … ihr euch vielfältige Genussmomente wünscht – sowohl landschaftlich wie auch kulinarisch. 
  • … ihr die Berge auch beim Klettern in der Vertikalen erleben wollt.
  • … ihr all die Vorteile nutzen möchtet, die die +CARD holiday euch bietet.

Was möchtest du entdecken?