Via ferratas on the sunny side of the Alps

Climbing in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region

Feeling the rock underneath your fingertips and experiencing boundless freedom up in lofty heights: There’s hardly another sport that’s quite as awe-inspiring as climbing and mountaineering. And in the Carnic Alps, mountain enthusiasts can choose from a variety of beautiful routes. As a reward for your summit conquest, you’ll get to enjoy breathtaking scenic views of the surrounding mountains.

The climbing hotspot Nassfeld region – with Trogkofel and Rosskofel – borders with Italy and boasts a multitude of scenic climbing routes in various levels of skill. Visiting a climbing crag with your family, tackling a multi-pitch route with your friends, or mastering a trad climb: There’s adventures for every type of climber. Combine this sporty experience with the pleasant Mediterranean climate of the region and taking a dip in one of the local lakes – and what you get is an amazing day in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region.

Good to know: Most via ferratas and climbing crags can be found in the Upper Gailtal Valley, where the mountaineers’ town of Mauthen is located. Depending on your level of skill and endurance, you can choose from different routes in levels of difficulty between A and D/E. What’s more, there’s a practice climbing rock in the Nassfeld region, where newbies can dabble in this sport and practice their skills.

The Outdoor & Relax World for climbers and mountaineers

A hotspot for mountain sports enthusiasts that …
  • … lets you enjoy the stunning rockfaces of the Carnic and Julian Alps.

  • … boasts 13 different via ferratas in various levels of difficulty.

  • … offers certified mountain guides that accompany you on a via ferrata tour, for instance.

  • … is bound to make your heart beat faster on the “Däumling” via ferrata – with stunning views and plenty of adrenaline rushes.

all Climbing and via ferratas tours at a glance

Tips for via ferratas in the World of Mountains & Lakes

Beginner or seasoned pro: On the numerous via ferratas in the World of Mountains & Lakes, everyone can find a suitable route. Those aiming high should give the routes on Rosskofel, Trogkofel and Gartnerkofel a try. The latter boasts the partially free-floating “Däumling” via ferrata.

Tip: Climbing above the waters of Lake Weissensee will have even experienced mountain sports enthusiasts in awe!

To each his own climbing route

Climbing for families

Movement and exercise in fresh air surrounded by a breathtaking scenery: That’s what makes climbing in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region such an amazing experience for families. A special highlight for little and grown-up climbers is the “Plattner Fels” climbing crag. And there are several child-appropriate routes with mystical names such as “Asrael” or “Gargamel”.

What characterises a family-friendly climbing crag?

  • best possible protection from alpine dangers
  • easy and risk-free approach for the whole family
  • child-appropriate easy routes
  • a flat meadow at the bottom of the wall
  • opportunities to relax and take a break

Sports climbing and climbing crags

Sports climbing enthusiasts will enjoy the well-secured routes on high-quality rock with a pleasant approach time. The single-pitch routes usually have a length between eight and 40 metres. Most sectors for these types of routes are located in the Carnic Alps and, more specifically, at the Plöcken Pass. About 200 single-pitch routes in UIAA-levels of difficulty between four and the upper ten are waiting for you to master them …

Fixed multi-pitch routes

When do we speak of a fixed multi-pitch route? Whenever a route has between two to ten rope-lengths on which all intermediate belay points and stops are drilled into the rock. Some of those routes can be found in the Nassfeld region, on the Plöcken Pass, and right at Lake Wolayersee.

Basic prerequisites for fixed multi-pitch routes:

  • climbing experience at the level indicated
  • knowledge of the required rope and belay techniques
  • ability to assess the prevailing weather conditions

Semi-alpine routes

If you’re up for an even greater challenge, you might want to opt for the so-called “semi-alpine routes”. They require the skilled use of mobile protection devices such as nuts and cams. A stress-free way of acquiring the necessary skills is on the more moderate routes of this category.

In the Carnic Alps, the Panettone climbing sector is known for its semi-alpine routes. It’s part of the Pal Piccolo range – the south face of which starts at 1,450 metres above sea level and is up to 260 metres tall in certain areas. The exits of the routes are located at about 1,700 metres above sea level.

Alpine routes

Besides good climbing skills, climbing in alpine terrain also requires a level-headed mentality. You have to set up the intermediate belay points yourself, and stops are solely your responsibility. Along the entire main ridge of the Carnic Alps, there are several long, challenging – and often remote – routes for seasoned pros. Good planning and preparation, having a good sense of direction, and being able to assess the weather situation are essential for these!

Climbing schools in the region

Practice makes perfect! The vast selection of local climbing lessons ensures that everyone finds the right approach to climbing. First experiences in higher altitudes and on the rock can be collected during trial lessons or in the Rock Labyrinth, for instance. If you’re past this stage already, you can familiarise yourself with the various facets of the climbing sport under the guidance of certified professionals.

And of course, you’ll also have the option of taking a course. Climbing courses are the perfect way to learn more about different belay techniques, equipment management or the right conduct on via ferratas. Two options for this are the indoor climbing gym and the bouldering room at Neue Mittelschule Hermagor.

From trial lessons to climbing tours

You’d like to give rock climbing a try? Or you’d like to be surprised with new and exciting routes? Our partners in the region specialising in climbing and via ferratas offer a range of different options for that. Experience the most beautiful locations in the Upper Gailtal Valley and in Lesachtal Valley from the vertical plane!

Fit & Fun Rafting Club
9654 St. Lorenzen im Lesachtal
Phone: +43 (0) 676 5049169
E-mail: info@fitundfun-outdoor.com
web: www.fitundfun-outdoor.com
Alpinschule GO Vertical OG
Mauthen 87
9640 Kötschach-Mauthen
Phone: +43 (0) 664 3527305    
E-mail: office@go-vertical.at
web: www.go-vertical.at  
 

Ready for even more exceptional experiences? The Summer World holds plenty of other “nice surprises” in store!

Find & book

What do you want to discover?

Kletterrouten auf der Sonnenseite der Alpen

Klettern in der Region Nassfeld-Pressegger See

Das Gestein spüren, das sicheren Halt gibt, und dabei die grenzenlose Freiheit in luftigen Höhen genießen. Nirgends kommt man dem Felsen so nah wie beim Klettern und Bergsteigen. Vor allem in den Karnischen Alpen sind Bergfexe auf ausgewählten Klettertouren unterwegs. Als Belohnung für den Gipfelsieg warten atemberaubende Ausblicke auf die umliegende Bergwelt.

Der Kletter-Hotspot Nassfeld – mit dem Trog- und Rosskofel – liegt im Grenzgebiet zu Italien und bietet eine unglaubliche Vielzahl an Kletterrouten in unterschiedlichen Schwierigkeitsgraden. Ob mit der Familie im Klettergarten, mit Freunden in einer Mehrseillängen-Route oder Trad-Klettern: Bei den vielen Klettersektoren ist für jeden das passende Abenteuer dabei. Kombiniert wird das sportliche Erlebnis mit mediterranem Klima, Alpe-Adria-Kulinarik und einem Sprung in einen der regionalen Seen.

Klettersteige auf der sonnenseite der alpen

Die meisten Klettersteige gibt es im oberen Gailtal, in dem das Bergsteigerdorf Mauthen liegt. Je nach Können und Ausdauer stehen Touren in den Schwierigkeitsgrade von A bis D/E zur Auswahl. Zudem gibt es am Nassfeld einen Übungskletterfelsen, an dem jeder Kraxler die ersten Schritte dieser Sportart stressfrei erlernen kann. 

Die Outdoor & Relax World für Kletterer und Bergsteiger

Klettern am Hotspot Nassfeld-Pressegger See …
  • … bringt euch den Felsen der Karnischen und Julischen Alpen so nah wie kein anderer Sport.
  • … bietet 13 abwechslungsreiche Klettersteige unterschiedlicher Schwierigkeitsgrade.
  • … wird auf Wunsch von staatlich geprüften Bergführern aus der Region begleitet, zum Beispiel auf einer organisierten Klettersteigtour.
  • … verspricht am Klettersteig Däumling eine Extraportion Adrenalin und Panorama.

 

KLettersteige auf einen Blick

Tipps für Klettersteige in der World of Mountains & Lakes

Ob Einsteiger oder versierter Klettersteiggeher: Auf den zahlreichen Klettersteigen in der World of Mountains & Lakes findet jeder Bergfex seine Route. Dabei geht es in der Vertikalen hoch hinaus – auf den Rosskofel, Trogkofel und Gartnerkofel. Letzterer, Klettersteig Däumling, wartet mit drei Seilbrücken und einer bis zu 40 Meter langen Nepalbrücke, die Schwindelfreiheit und Gleichgewicht fordert auf. 

Jedem Bergsportler seine Klettersteigtour

Familienklettern

Viel Bewegung, frische Luft und atemberaubende Landschaft: Genau das verbindet sich beim Familienklettern im Lebensraum Nassfeld-Pressegger See zu einem einzigartigen Erlebnis. Vor allem der Klettergarten „Plattner Fels“ hat es Jung und Alt angetan. Freut auch ihr euch auf kindgerechte Routen mit klingenden Namen wie „Asrael“ oder „Gargamel“. 

Was zeichnet einen familienfreundlichen Klettergarten aus? 

  • größtmöglicher Schutz vor alpinen Gefahren
  • geringer und gefahrloser Zustieg für die ganze Familie
  • kindgerechte und leichte Routen
  • flache Wiese am Wandfuß
  • Möglichkeiten zum Entspannen

SPORTKLETTERN UND KLETTERGARTEN

Top Klettergärten in verschiedener Schwierigkeitsgrade findet ihr am Plöckenpass. Die Routen sind zwischen 8 und 40 Meter hoch - stellenweise höher. Am Plöckenpass bei Kötschach-Mauthen befinden sich an die 200 Routen, die zwischen den IV und den oberen X Schwierigkeitsgrad angesiedelt sind.

GEBOHRTE MEHRSEILLÄNGEN-ROUTEN

Wann ist von gebohrten Mehrseillängen-Routen die Rede? Immer dann, wenn es sich bei der Route um mehr als zwei Seillängen handelt, auf denen alle Zwischensicherungen und Standplätze gebohrt sind. Sehr gut erschlossene Routen findet ihr im Hotspot Nassfeld, Plöckenpass oder auch am wunderschönen Wolayersee. 

Grundvoraussetzungen für die gebohrten Mehrseillängen sind:

  • Klettersicherheit im angegebenen Schwierigkeitsgrad
  • Kenntnis der erforderlichen Seil- und Sicherungstechnik
  • Fähigkeit, die vorherrschende Wettersituation richtig einzuschätzen

SEMI-ALPIN-ROUTEN

Wer noch etwas mehr gefordert werden möchte, entscheidet sich für die sogenannten Semi-Alpin-Routen. Sie setzen den beherrschten Umgang mit mobilen Sicherungsmitteln wie Klemmkeile oder Cam’s voraus. Stressfrei erlernen und verfestigen könnt ihr die notwendigen Fertigkeiten auf den moderaten Kletterouten dieser Kategorie. 

In den Karnischen Alpen ist der Klettersektor Panettone für Semi-Alpin-Routen bekannt. Er gehört zum Gebirgsstock des kleinen Pal, dessen Südwand ab einer Seehöhe von 1.450 Metern beginnt – und stellenweise 260 Meter hoch ist. Die Ausstiege der Routen enden auf circa 1.700 Metern Seehöhe. 

ALPIN-ROUTEN

Alpin-Routen verlangen neben einem sehr guten Kletterniveau auch eine stabile Psyche. Zwischensicherungen müssen selbst gelegt werden, auch der Standplatzbau liegt in eigener Verantwortung. Entlang des gesamten Karnischen Hauptkammes warten diese anspruchsvollen, langen und häufig abgelegenen Routen auf absolute Profis. Optimale Tourenplanung, ein ausgezeichneter Orientierungssinn und das richtige Einschätzen der Wettersituation sind das A und O. Empfehlenswerte Routen sind am Nassfeld oder auch im Bereich Plöckenpass zur Genüge vorhanden.

Kletterschulen in der Region

Übung macht den Meister! Die große Auswahl an regionalen Anbietern garantiert, dass jeder den für sich richtigen Zugang zum Klettersport findet. Erste Erfahrungen mit der Höhe und dem Felsen werden beim Schnupperklettern oder im Felsenlabyrinth gesammelt. Wer das bereits hinter sich hat, lernt gemeinsam mit staatlich geprüften Bergführern den Klettersport in all seinen Facetten kennen. 

Selbstverständlich habt ihr auch die Möglichkeit, an verschiedenen Kursen teilzunehmen. Ideal, um mit Seiltechniken, Ausrüstungsmanagement oder dem richtigen Umgang am Klettersteig vertraut zu werden.

Tipp: Bei Schlechtwetter steht die Kletterhalle Hermagor mit 400m² Kletterfläche und ca. 60 Routen sowie ein Boulderraum mit 150 m² Kletterfläche zur Verfügung.

Vom Schnupperklettern bis zur Klettertour

Ihr wollt den Klettersport zum ersten Mal ausprobieren? Oder möchtet euch mit besonderen Klettersteigen überraschen lassen? Unsere Partner aus der Region mit den Schwerpunkten Klettern und Klettersteig bieten euch ein abwechslungsreiches Programm. Erlebt die schönsten Schauplätze im oberen Gailtal und im Lesachtal in der Vertikalen!

Alpinschule GO Vertical OG
Mauthen 87
9640 Kötschach-Mauthen
Tel.: +43 (0) 664 3527305    
E-Mail: office@go-vertical.at
Web: www.go-vertical.at  

Berg Sport Schule Nassfeld
Zentralbüro Tröpolach
9631 Tröpolach

Tel: +43 (0)4285 / 7100
E-Mail: service@soelle.at
Web: www.soelle.at

Fit & Fun Rafting Club
9654 St. Lorenzen im Lesachtal
Tel.: +43 (0) 676 5049169
E-Mail: info@fitundfun-outdoor.com
Web: www.fitundfun-outdoor.com

Bereit für noch mehr außergewöhnliche Erlebnisse? Die Summer World ist immer für eine Überraschung gut!

Finden & buchen

Was möchtest du entdecken?