Experiencing the magic of fresh powder snow

Ski tours in the Carnic and Gailtal Alps

Nothing but silence around you, picturesque winter landscapes and soft powder snow: Thanks to the special micro-climate on the sunny side of the Alps, there’s plenty of fresh snow falling in regular intervals. This creates perfect conditions for a ski tour in the Carnic and Gailtal Alps. And this sport is rapidly gaining in popularity: More and more winter sports enthusiasts are discovering their passion for ski touring. No wonder – there’s hardly another sport that makes you feel this close to nature.

An athletic challenge combined with pure skiing fun is what makes ski touring in the World of Mountains & Lakes a truly magical experience.

Reasons for going on a ski tour

  • At one with nature: Th snow-covered pastures and harsh summits of the Carnic and Gailtal Alps are definitely a sight to see. The World of Mountains & Lakes is awe-inspiring – no wonder it attracts winter sports athletes from around the globe. And if you’re up for the challenge of exploring higher altitudes on your touring skis, you’ll be rewarded with breathtaking scenic views: the summits of the Carnic, Julian and Gailtal Alps all around – sometimes, you might even be able to see the Großglockner and the Adriatic Sea. 

  • A sporty challenge: Downhill skiing isn’t the only sport that allows you to test your limits. Ski touring requires strength and a substantial level of endurance. Be sure to bring enough snacks to keep you well-fuelled, and then you’re all set to discover the mountains step by step! 

  • Routes for every taste and every level of skill: Ski touring is just something for extreme athletes? Far from it! Everyone can go on a ski tour as long as they are familiar with the technique, have a basic level of endurance, and appropriate equipment. The diverse World of Mountains & Lakes boasts perfect conditions for beginners, advanced and even pro ski tourers.

Safety first: Nothing’s more important than staying safe while out and about in the mountains. Find out about the snow conditions and avalanche warnings ahead of every tour!

Good to know: Ski touring means immersing yourself in nature. So please be mindful of your surroundings and the wildlife in the region! Follow the signposted routes and give the animals the space they need! This avoids unnecessary stress and disturbances, and both humans and animals can enjoy some peace and quiet in the mountains …

Exploring the mountains with the pros

Ski touring lessons as perfect preparation

You’re fascinated with the mountains of the Carnic and Gailtal Alps? Conquering summits and discovering new routes is your favourite pastime? Accompanied by experienced local mountain guides, ski tourers regularly explore the Alpine terrain of the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region.

During various ski touring courses, technique and theory are explained. And then, you can put your newly gained knowledge into practice exploring the enchanting winter sports destination on the sunny side of the Alps. True to the motto: Learn the necessary skills in a group and know about the possible dangers, before you head up into the Alps on your own!

Ski tours by Go-Vertical

With the ski touring and mountain guides of Go-Vertical, you can explore the two main ridges of the Carnic and Gailtal Alps on skins.

The available tours at a glance:

  • Tour 11 onto Gartnerkofel: duration: 4.5 – 6 h, starting point: car park at the meadow south of the river Gail
  • Tour 8 up to Rauchkofel: duration: approx. 4.5 h, guaranteed snow until the end of April, starting point: car park at the entrance to Valentintal Valley
  • Tour 4 to Wodnerthörl: duration: 3 – 4 h, ascent through Valentintal Valley
  • Tour 14 towards Auernig: a beautiful short ski tour of about 3 h

 

More info …

Ski tours by the Nassfeld Mountain Sports School

Ski touring in the World of Mountains & Lakes is quite the experience. And the Nassfeld Mountain Sports School lets you explore the Carnic, Gailtal and Julian Alps in a small group. Mountain enthusiasts can choose between an introductory course for beginners – for easy ski tours with some experience in the open terrain – or more challenging tours for advanced powder-snow pros. Always right at your side: experienced mountain and ski touring guides.

Tip: The Upper Gailtal Valley and Lesachtal Valley – Europe’s most pristine valley – are perfect for long ski tours (especially from February on). The slow-paced lifestyle down in the valley, the snowy winter landscape and the small-scale accommodation options round off the experience. Give it a try and head out on a ski tour in Lesachtal Valley!

Contact

Thomas Themeßl
Skischule Thommi Nassfeld
Skischulleiter

Skischulbüro: Tröpolach 150
9631
Tröpolach
Save contact

Contact

Sport Sölle Tröpolach
Sport Sölle Tröpolach
gegenüber der Talstation Millennium-Express
Save contact

Contact

Alpinschule Go-Vertical
Alpinschule Go-Vertical
Mauthen 87
9640
Kötschach-Mauthen
Save contact

Ski tours in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region

The basics: ski touring equipment

To ensure your tour in pristine powder snow becomes a resounding success, you need to make sure you have the right equipment. From touring skis to skins, poles, avalanche equipment, a helmet, and breathable clothing, you should have everything on hand. Those who are new to ski touring might want to find out about the “must-haves” from their mountain guide. Or even easier: Just rent all the equipment you need at the local sports shops!

By the way: After the cable cars and lifts close, a descent on the slopes becomes incredibly dangerous, and using them is prohibited. Generally speaking, ski touring is for free. However, if you use the slopes (uphill or downhill) you need to be able to present a valid ski pass.

Find & book

What do you want to discover?

180304_martinlugger_nassfeld_0046 | © MartinLugger

Die Magie des Pulverschnees spüren

Skitouren in den Karnischen und Gailtaler Alpen

Ringsherum Abgeschiedenheit, Ruhe, idyllische Winterlandschaften und lockerer Pulverschnee – dank des besonderen Mikroklimas auf der Sonnenseite Kärntens kommt Neuschnee-Nachschub in regelmäßigen Abständen. Somit gibt‘s perfekte Voraussetzungen für eine Skitour in den Karnischen und Gailtaler Alpen. Die Sportart findet zunehmend Anhänger: Immer mehr Wintersportbegeisterte entdecken die Leidenschaft des Skitourengehens für sich. Kein Wunder, bei kaum einer Sportart ist der Mensch mit der Natur so auf Tuchfühlung wie hier. 

Die sportliche Herausforderung kombiniert mit purem Fahrspaß, ja, das macht den Reiz des Skitourengehens in der World of Mountains & Lakes aus!

Gründe für‘s Skitourengehen

  • Auf Du und Du mit der Natur: Die verschneiten Almen und schroffen Gipfel der Karnischen und Gailtaler Alpen sind eine Expedition auf zwei Fellen wert. Die World of Mountains & Lakes ist faszinierend und wirkt besonders anziehend auf alpine Wintersportler. Wagt ihr euch mit den Tourenski in höhere Lagen erwartet euch ein grandioser Rundumblick. Die Gipfel der Karnischen, Julischen und Gailtaler Alpen umgeben euch und mancherorts reichen die Weitblicke bis zum Großglockner und zur Adria. 
  • Sportliche Herausforderung: Nicht nur der alpine Skigenuss kann Wintersportler fordern und an ihre Grenzen bringen. Das Skitourengehen verlangt neben Muskelkraft auch eine ordentliche Portion Durchhaltevermögen. Am besten ausreichend Proviant in den Tourenrucksack packen und Schritt für Schritt der Bergwelt entgegengehen. 
  • Routen für jedermann: Skitouren sind nur etwas für Extremsportler? Im Gegenteil. Tourengehen kann jeder mit Grundkenntnissen, ausreichend Kondition und der richtigen Ausrüstung. Die vielfältige World of Mountains & Lakes bietet die idealen Voraussetzungen, sowohl für Einsteiger und Fortgeschrittene als auch für echte Profis.

Safety first: Sicherheit am Berg geht immer vor! Deshalb erkundigt euch vor jeder Skitour über die Schnee- und Lawinensituation

Gut zu wissen: Skitouren gehen heißt mitten in die Natur einzutauchen. Deshalb geht respektvoll mit dieser um. Auch der richtige Umgang mit Wildtieren solltet ihr beim Skitourengehen nicht außer Acht lassen. Am besten den beschilderten Routen folgen und den Tieren ihr wichtiges Rückzugsgebiet überlassen. So wird unnötige Beunruhigung und Stress vermieden und Mensch sowie Tier können friedlich nebeneinander die Ruhe genießen.

Mit den Profis in die Bergwelt

Skitourenkurse als perfekte Vorbereitung

Die Berge in den Karnischen und Gailtaler Alpen haben euch schon immer fasziniert? Hoch hinaus, die Gipfel erklimmen und neue Routen entdecken, das ist eure liebste Winterbeschäftigung? Mit den erfahrenen Bergführern können sich Skitourengeher regelmäßig auf den Weg machen, um die Erlebnisregion Nassfeld-Pressegger See zu erkunden. 

Bei Skitourenkursen werden Technik und Theorie erklärt, und ihr erkundet gemeinsam die charmante Wintersportdestination. Ganz nach dem Motto: Erst in der Gruppe mit anderen lernen und über die Gefahren am Berg Bescheid wissen, bevor es alleine in die Alpen geht.

Skitouren von Go-Vertical

Mit den Skitouren-Guides und Bergführern von Go-Vertical die zwei Hauptkämme der Karnischen und Gailtaler Alpen auf zwei Fellen erkunden. 

Die Touren im Überblick:

  • Tour 11 auf den Gartnerkofel: Dauer: 4,5–6 h, Ausgangspunkt: Parkplatz vor der Wiese südlich der Gail
  • Tour 8 hoch zum Rauchkofel: Dauer: ca. 4,5 h, Schnee bis Ende April, Ausgangspunkt: Parkplatz am Eingang ins Valentintal
  • Tour 4 zum Wodnerthörl: Dauer: 3–4 h, Aufstieg durchs Valentintal 
  • Tour 14 Richtung Auernig: schöne, kurze Skitour von ca. 3 h 

Mehr Infos …

Skitouren mit der Bergsportschule Nassfeld

Skitourengehen in der World of Mountains & Lakes, das ist schon eine Nummer für sich. Mit der Bergsportschule Nassfeld wird in kleinen Gruppen die Bergwelt der Gailtaler, Karnischen und Julischen Alpen erkundet. Dabei kann zwischen einem Grundkurs für Einsteiger für leichte Skitouren mit Geländeerfahrung und anspruchsvolle Skitouren ausgewählt werden. Immer an der Seite: erfahrene Bergführer und Skitouren-Guides.

Tipp: Das obere Gailtal und vor allem das naturbelassenste Tal Europas, das Lesachtal, sind prädestiniert (speziell ab Februar) für ausgiebige Skitouren. Die Langsamkeit im Tal, die tiefverschneite Winterlandschaft und die vorwiegend kleinstrukturierten Unterkünfte runden das Gesamtpaket ab. Probiert es aus und wagt eine Skitour im Lesachtal!

Kontakt

Thomas Themeßl
Skischule Thommi Nassfeld
Skischulleiter

Skischulbüro: Tröpolach 150
9631
Tröpolach
Kontakt speichern

Kontakt

Sport Sölle Tröpolach
Sport Sölle Tröpolach
gegenüber der Talstation Millennium-Express
Kontakt speichern

Kontakt

Alpinschule Go-Vertical
Alpinschule Go-Vertical
Mauthen 87
9640
Kötschach-Mauthen
Kontakt speichern

Skitouren in der Region Nassfeld-Pressegger See

Das A und O

Die Skitourenausrüstung

Damit die Skitour in unverspurtem Pulverschnee auch sicher gelingt, wird geeignetes Equipment benötigt. Von Tourenski, Tourenstöcken, Steigfellen, Lawinenausrüstung bis zu Helm und atmungsaktivem Outfit sollte alles parat sein. Diejenigen, für die Skitouren Neuland sind, informieren sich am besten bei den Bergführern über die Must-haves der Ausrüstung. Oder noch einfacher: Ihr leiht euch das komplette Equipment in den örtlichen Sportgeschäften aus. 

Übrigens: Nach Betriebsschluss der Bergbahnen ist das Abfahren auf den Pisten äußerst gefährlich und es gilt eine generelle Sperre der Pistenfläche. Grundlegend ist das Tourengehen gratis. Solltet ihr auf- oder abwärts die Pisten benützen muss ein gültiger Skipass vorgewiesen werden. 

Finden & buchen

Was möchtest du entdecken?

180304_martinlugger_nassfeld_0046 | © MartinLugger