Pure fun in the water in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region

Rivers, lakes and streams

Rivers, lakes, and streams – it’s not just the major lakes of the region like Lake Presseggersee or Lake Weissensee that have a lot to offer. The slightly more hidden gems of the World of Mountains & Lakes are wonderful locations for taking a dip as well. Be it the turbulent river Gail, the enchanting Lake Zollnersee at 1,800 metres above sea level, or the awe-inspiring Garnitzenklamm gorge: The bodies of water found in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region are definitely well worth a visit!

Immerse yourself and discover the expansive World of Lakes. You’ll be amazed – promise!

White waters full of variety

The Gail – a river that packs a punch

The river Gail originates in the pristine Lesachtal Valley and then winds its way through Gailtal Valley all the way to Villach where it joins the Drau. Along its shores, holiday guests can discover a variety of rare species of plants and endangered animals which explains its popularity with nature lovers from all over. With its 122 kilometres in length, the Gail flows through several different landscapes. If you follow it downriver, you’ll end up in the Nassfeld-Pressegger See region.

Whether it’s a refreshing swim in the water, an adventure by kayak or raft, or just enjoying nature: The river is the perfect location for cooling off in summer.

A border-region lake

lake Zollner See

At Lake Zollnersee, you’re only a few steps away from the “dolce vita” in Italy. Embedded in the hiking region of the Carnic Alps, this lake is the perfect location for infinite moments of joy in nature. Hikers are practically served cross-border experiences on a silver platter thanks to the area’s proximity to the neighbouring country of Italy.

The lake is also the starting point for many leisurely hikes and walks. It’s geographical location in the western Nassfeld region – surrounded by quiet moorlands – makes it ideal for relaxing and unwinding in a pristine natural setting. And not too far from its western shores, guests find two beautiful locations for a break: If you’d like to quench your hunger and thirst, you might want to stop at the Alpine hut “Zollnersee Hütte” (a Slow Food Travel partner business). If you’re looking for a special place of contemplation, you’ll find it at the “Friedenskapelle” (Peace Chapel).

Tip: For some entertainment during your hike, you should visit the Zollnersee Geo-Trail.

A stream that flows through the Carnic Alps

Garnitzenklamm

Time leaves its traces. And the Garnitzenklamm is no exception to that. Throughout the course of history, the water caved out the rock of the Carnic Alps creating a four-kilometre gorge: 10,000-year-old Garnitzenklamm.

The awe-inspiring gorge isn’t just a place to feel at one with nature. On hot summer days, holiday guests also enjoy Garnitzenklamm’s cooler temperatures. Many locations for a break and well-signposted trails through the gorge make its mountain stream a popular excursion destination.

… and the Gösseringgraben educational trail

Weißenbachklamm

Another hikers’ paradise along a gushing stream can be found at the Gösseringgraben. Steps, rocks and gravel trails blend in with the breathtaking landscape of the Weißenbachklamm. And on the educational trail with its five sections, both little and grown up adventurers can learn more about nature at the gorge.

One of Austria’s most beautiful gorges

Mauthner Klamm

200 metres in height, rockfaces wherever you look, several suspension bridges, and a tunnel through the rock: The Mauthner Klamm is truly impressive. The gorge also consists of two sections – an anterior and a posterior one – the latter of which is called “Klabautersteig”.

What do you want to discover?

Wasserspaß im Lebensraum Nassfeld-Pressegger See

Flüsse, Seen, Bäche: die vielseitigen Gewässer

Seen, Flüsse, Bäche – nicht nur die großen Naturseen wie Pressegger See oder Weissensee haben in den Sommermonaten für Urlaubsgäste einiges zu bieten. Auch abseits verstecken sich in der World of Mountains & Lakes so einige Goldschätze zum Planschen. Ob die rauschende Gail, der bezaubernde Zollner See auf knapp 1.800 Höhenmetern oder die beeindruckende Garnitzenklamm: Die Gewässer sind definitiv einen Besuch wert!

Taucht ab und entdeckt die weitläufige World of Lakes. Ihr werdet staunen, fest versprochen!

Die vielseitige Wasserader

Die Gail – ein Flusslauf, der es in sich hat

Im naturbelassenen Lesachtal entspringt sie, die Gail und bahnt sich ihren Weg durch das Gailtal bis nach Villach, wo sie schließlich in der Drau mündet. Urlaubsgäste finden zuhauf bedrohte Tierarten und seltene Pflanzen entlang des Flusses, schon deshalb zieht er Naturliebhaber magisch an. 
Sage und schreibe 122 Kilometer fließt die Gail durch unterschiedliche Landschaftsabschnitte. Folgt man dem Fluss stromabwärts, landet man unweigerlich in der Region Nassfeld-Pressegger See.

Ob für ein erfrischendes Bad, eine abenteuerliche Sportart mit Schlauchboot oder Kajak oder einfach nur, um die Natur zu genießen: Der Fluss bietet die perfekte Abkühlung. In Villach mündet die Gail schließlich in die Drau, wo sie ihre lange Reise beendet.

Ein See im Grenzgebiet

Der Zollner See

Nur wenige Schritte trennen euch vom „Dolce Vita“ Italiens. Der Zollner See bettet sich perfekt in die Wanderlandschaft in den Karnischen Alpen ein. Zudem beschert er Wanderern in nur wenigen Stunden ein grenzenloses Erlebnis in unberührter Natur. Durch die unmittelbare Nähe zu Italien wird der Abstecher zum Nachbarn förmlich auf dem Silbertablett serviert.

Vor allem für Genusswanderer und Spazierfreunde ist der Zollner See ein idealer Ausflugspunkt. Der weiter im Westen des Nassfelds gelegene See ist umgeben von stillen Hochmoorflächen. Ideal zum Abschalten und um Ruhe zu finden. Unweit des Westufers haben die Gäste zwei Attraktionen zur Auswahl: Wer Hunger oder Durst hat, besucht die bewirtete Zollnersee Hütte (ein Slow Food Travel Partner), wer zur Ruhe kommen möchte oder Besinnlichkeit sucht, für den ist die Friedenskappelle der geeignete Ort. 

Tipp: Um die Wanderung kurzweiliger zu gestalten, bietet der Geotrail Zollnersee die perfekte Abwechslung.

Der Bach durch die Karnischen Alpen

Die Garnitzenklamm

Die Zeit hinterlässt ihre Spuren. So auch in der Garnitzenklamm. Im Lauf der Geschichte hat sich nämlich eine vier Kilometer lange Schlucht in das Gestein der Karnischen Alpen gegraben – die 10.000 Jahre alte Garnitzenklamm. 

Die beeindruckende Schlucht ist nicht nur ein Ort, um Kraft und Energie zu tanken. Gäste genießen hier an heißen Sommertagen auch etwas kühlere Temperaturen. Zahlreiche Rastplätze und gut ausgeschilderte Wege durch die Klamm machen den Gebirgsbach zu einem beliebten Ausflugsziel für Familien.

Naturlehrpfad Gösseringgraben

Die Weißenbachklamm

Ein Wandervergnügen mit rauschendem Wassererlebnis wartet im Gösseringgraben auf alle Gäste. Stufen, Felsen und Schotterwege runden das Landschaftsbild ab. Der in der Weißenbachklamm verlaufende Naturlehrpfad untergliedert sich in fünf Abschnitte und ist für Jung und Alt ein wahres Sommer-Idylle. 

Eine, der schönsten Schluchten Österreichs

Die Mauthner Klamm

200 Meter hoch, Felswände soweit das Auge reicht, unzählige Hängebrücken und ein in Felsen geschlagener Tunnel: Das macht die Mauthner Klamm so besonders. Zudem besteht die Klamm aus zwei Teilen, einem vorderen und einem hinteren, der den klingenden Namen „Klabautersteig“ trägt.

Lage & Anreise

Die Urlaubsdestination Nassfeld-Pressegger See liegt in Kärnten / Österreich direkt an der Grenze zu Italien.

Anreise Planen
Wandern Alm NLW-21

Was möchtest du entdecken?

NLW Badespass Tag65