Crystal-clear and turquoise-blue or emerald-green

The most beautiful mountain lakes in the World of Lakes

Crystal-clear, blue or green, and often quite cold: The mountain lakes in the World of Lakes are breathtakingly beautiful and a feast for the eyes. Jumping into the ice-cold water just might be a little too much of a good thing. However, dipping your toes in the water after a long hike in summer will be heavenly soothing and definitely refreshing.

To get to a higher elevation in the World of Mountains & Lakes, you can either take the cable car or lifts or walk all the way up from the valley. Sunshine and not a cloud in the sky: Those are usually the weather conditions that await you in the Gailtal, Carnic and Julian Alps. What’s more, impressive mountain ranges and stunning scenic views are the icing on the cake. Whether it’s at Lago di Pramollo, Lake Bodensee, Lake Zollnersee, Lake Wolayersee or Lake Grünsee near the Plöcken Pass: Carinthia isn’t stingy with superlatives when it comes to its mountain lakes.

The best routes to the crystal-clear bodies of water

A taste of paradise: the mountain lakes

Pristine lakes that boast a water quality that could hardly be better: Seven of those can be found in the World of Mountains & Lakes making it even more diverse and impressive. Because there’s nothing better than to take a little break at one of them during a hike or excursion. Watch the mountain tops reflected in the water gently tremble – and take a deep long breath!

Der Lago di Pramollo

A long time ago, this idyllic mountain lake at the Austrian-Italian border was a moorland at 1,500 metres above sea level. Now, Lago di Pramollo lies embedded between meadows, forests and countless summits. A beautiful hiking trail leads around the lake. In winter, it becomes a circular cross-country skiing trail.

lake Zollner See

You’re on your way to the Italian border either on foot or by bike? Then you should definitely visit Lake Zollnersee. The picturesque mountain lake is located in the western part of the Nassfeld region and can be easily reached by hikers. “Zollnersee Hütte” mountain hut, the Geo-Trail and its proximity to Italy make it a popular destination for a little excursion in the Alps.

lake Wolayer See

The mountain lake and the hut of the same name are located at 1,960 metres above sea level. It’s a true natural treasure that can be found right along the Carnic Peace Trail. The trail leads you to the lake – either from Kötschach-Mauthen (in the direction of the Plöcken Pass) via Valentintal Valley or from Lesachtal Valley with a stop at Hubertus Chapel. From the Italian side (starting point Plöcken Pass), you can reach this gem of a lake via the Refugio Marinelli.

Tip: Would you like to find out more about the Carnic Peace Trail? High up in the adventure region between Lake Wolayerse and Friuli, you’ll find the Carnic Milky Way. It connects various Gailtal and Italian pastures with each other in a star-constellation pattern. Get more information!

lake Grünsee

This tranquil mountain lake is located near Plöcken Pass. Well-signposted routes lead hikers around the lake which owes its name to its striking colour. It looks like a green emerald. Responsible for this effect are the minerals in the water. A unique sight to behold, which you should definitely see in person!

lake Bodensee

Along the Nassfeldstraße and about ten minutes east of it, you’ll find the little and big Lake Bodensee. A visit to the bigger lake is definitely well worth it – even if it’s just to get a holiday snapshot of its emerald-green waters and the tree trunks and logs scattered across the bottom of the lake.

laghi di Fusine

In German also known as “Weissenfelser Seen”, these two mountain lakes are located on Italian terrain in the Tarvisio region and lie – one above the other – on two terraces. Because of their fascinating play of colours, many visitors describe them as a unique place of power in the tri-border region of Austria, Slovenia and Italy.

lago del Predil

Lago del Predil is located in the neighbouring region of Travisio in Italy as well. If you’re travelling towards Sella Nevea (coming from Soča Valley), you’ll find this lustrously green lake embedded in the landscape.

Tip: The old fortress in immediate proximity of the lake is well-worth visiting, too.

You’re in the mood for even more experiences relating to the element of water? There’s a lot to discover in the World of Lakes!

What do you want to discover?

Glasklar und smaragdgrün

Die schönsten Bergseen in der World of Lakes

Kristallklar, tiefblau und meist ziemlich kalt: Die Bergseen in der World of Lakes sind atemberaubend schön und eine wahre Augenweide. Hineinzuspringen in das eiskalte Wasser, das ist zwar meist zu viel des Guten. Die überhitzten Wanderfüße hingegen freuen sich über eine kühle Erfrischung im Sommer. 

Mit den Liftanlagen oder zu Fuß geht’s hinauf in höhere Lagen der World of Mountains & Lakes. Die Sonne im Genick und keine Wolke am Himmel: Das sind die Wetteraussichten für die sonnendurchflutete Urlaubsregion in den Gailtaler, Karnischen und Julischen Alpen. Beeindruckende Gebirgsketten mit Panoramen, Aussichten und Weitblicken, die einem den Atem rauben, sind das Sahnehäubchen obendrauf. Ob der Lago di Pramollo am Nassfeld, der Bodensee, der Zollner See, der Wolayer See oder der Grünsee nahe des Plöckenpasses: Kärnten geizt nicht mit Superlativen, wenn es um Bergseen geht. 

Die schönsten Routen zu den kristallklaren Gewässern

Beeindruckend und paradiesisch: die Bergseen

Natürliche Gewässer, die mit einer Wasserqualität locken, wie sie nicht besser sein könnte. Gleich sieben Bergseen an der Zahl machen die World of Lakes noch vielfältiger und beeindruckender. Denn es gibt nichts Besseres, als einen kleinen Zwischenstopp bei der Wanderung oder beim Ausflug einzulegen. Betrachtet die Spiegelung der Bergspitzen auf der Wasseroberfläche und atmet einmal tief durch! 

Der Lago di Pramollo

Ursprünglich war der idyllisch gelegene Bergsee an der österreichisch-italienischen Grenze ein Moorgebiet auf 1.500 Metern Seehöhe. Der heutige See liegt zwischen Weiden, Wäldern und unzähligen Berggipfeln. Ein wunderschöner Wanderweg führt einmal rund um ihn herum. Im Winter verwandelt sich der Lago di Pramollo in eine ringförmige Langlaufstrecke.

Der Zollner See

Ihr seid im Gailtal zu Fuß oder via Bike in Richtung italienische Staatsgrenze unterwegs? Dann stattet dem Zollner See einen Besuch ab! Der idyllische Bergsee lieg im Westen des Nassfelds und ist zu Fuß für gute Wanderer erreichbar. Die bewirtschaftete Zollnersee Hütte sowie der Geotrail und die Nähe zu Italien machen den See zu einem beliebten Ausflugsziel. 

Der Wolayer See

Der Bergsee inklusive gleichnamiger Hütte liegt auf 1.960 Metern Höhe und ist ein wahres Naturjuwel, das sich direkt am Karnischen Höhenweg befindet. Von Kötschach-Mauthen (Richtung Plöckenenpass) über das Valentintal oder vom Lesachtal mit Zwischenstopp bei der Hubertuskapelle führt der Weg zum Bergsee. Von der italienischen Seite aus (Start Plöckenpass) ist das Naturjuwel über die Rifugio Marinelli erreichbar.

Tipp: Ihr wollt mehr über den Karnischen Höhenweg erfahren? Hoch oben in der Erlebnisregion zwischen dem Wolayersee bis nach Friaul findet ihr die Karnische Milchstraße. Diese verbindet neben den Gailtaler Almen, Käsealmen auch die italienischen Almen miteinander, und zwar nach einem Sternenbild. Jetzt zu den Infos gelangen!

Der Grünsee

Nahe des Plöckenpasses findet man den ruhig gelegenen Bergsee. Gut beschilderte Touren führen Wanderer rund um den See, der seinen Namen der tiefgrünen Farbe verdankt. Wie ein grüner Smaragd sieht er aus. Verantwortlich für diesen wunderschönen Farbeffekt sind im Wasser gelöste Mineralien. Ein einzigartiger Anblick, den ihr am besten mit eigenen Augen sehen solltet!

Der Bodensee

Direkt an der Nassfeldstraße und etwa zehn Minuten weiter nach Osten direkt neben der Straße befinden sich der große und kleine Bodensee. Ein Besuch des großen Sees lohnt hier auf alle Fälle! Allein schon, um von den smaragdgrünen und mit vielen Baumstämmen bestückten Naturwundern einen Schnappschuss mit nach Hause zu nehmen. 

Die Weißenfelser Seen

Auch bekannt unter dem Namen Laghi di Fusine finden Bergsee-Liebhaber im benachbarten Tarvisio auf italienischem Gebiet die Weißenfelser Seen, die Terrassenförmig übereinander liegen. Ein Kraftort inklusive unbeschreiblichem Farbzauber, direkt im Dreiländereck Österreich, Slowenien und Italien.

Lago di Predil oder Raibl See

Ebenfalls auf italienischem Gebiet im benachbarten Tarvisio liegt der Lago di Predil. Richtung Sella Nevea vom Sočatal aus kommend ist der grün-schimmernde Natursee zu finden. 

Tipp: In unmittelbarer Umgebung gibt es eine alte Kriegsfestung zu entdecken. Sicherlich einen Ausflug wert!

Noch mehr Wassererlebnisse gefällig? In der World of Lakes gibt es noch viel mehr zu entdecken!

Was möchtest du entdecken?