The Gail river

Lifeline flowing through the heart of Carinthia

From its moorland source in East Tyrol, the Gail river flows through Carinthia and into the Lesachtal Valley, an area in the west of Austria's southernmost province which is today still an untouched haven of natural beauty and home to many endangered animals and rare plants. From the Lesachtal Valley, the river continues on through the Nassfeld holiday region in the Gailtal Valley, a paradise for holidaymakers, sports enthusiasts and nature lovers. The river, which measures a total of 122 km in length, ends in the town of Villach, where it flows into the Drau.

Follow the river by bike

Passing through dense forests and impressive mountain landscapes, the Gail is a natural guide to some of the most beautiful sights in Carinthia. The cycle path "Radweg R3" runs along the banks of the river downstream from Kötschach-Mauthen to Villach, from where cyclists can travel back to Nassfeld by train. However, the Gail river itself also offers plenty of water-based action, adventure and relaxation.

Swimming and relaxing

During the hot summer months, there is no better place to cool off than on the banks of the Gail. The fresh mountain water, untouched nature and shady forests that line the river make for a relaxing day out.

 

Tip! Fly fishing is also possible on the Gail from 15 April.

Wildwater adventures

Visitors looking for an adrenaline rush will enjoy the 30 km of whitewater and can choose from rafting, kayaking and canoeing. The whitewater is divided into three sections:

 

  • top section: Bichl – St. Lorenzen, 10 km
  • middle section: St. Lorenzen – Birnbaum/Nostra, 10 km
  • bottom section: Birnbaum/Nostra – Wehr vor Körtschach, 10 km

 

With its many steps, twists, turns and steep sections, the river is a natural playground which caters for watersports enthusiasts of all abilities. Don't miss out on this unique journey down a unique waterway!

 

Tip! Family rafting is FREE OF CHARGE for holders of the "+CARD holiday" during the low season and -30% during the high season.

Die Gail

Aktive Lebensader Kärntens

Von einem Moorgebiet in Osttirol aus bahnt sich die Gail ihren Weg nach Kärnten ins Lesachtal. Das bis heute unberührte Einzugsgebiet im Westen des Bundeslandes ist Lebensraum für bedrohte Tierarten und seltene Pflanzen und zieht nicht nur Naturliebhaber magisch an. Folgt man der Gail stromabwärts, landet man in der Urlaubsdestination Nassfeld-Pressegger See im Gailtal, einem Paradies für Badeurlauber, Sportler und Naturgenießer. Das Ende der 122 Kilometer langen Reise des Flusses bildet die Alpenstadt Villach, wo die Gail in die Drau mündet.

Mit dem Rad stromabwärts

Begleitet von tiefen Wäldern und beeindruckenden Panoramen zieht sich die Gail durch die schönsten Hot Spots der Kärntner Natur. Der Flusslauf ist gleichzeitig ein natürlicher Guide für alle Radfahrer. Denn entlang der Gail verläuft der Radweg R3, der Genussradler und Mountainbiker auf den Spuren der Strömung von Kötschach-Mauthen nach Villach führt. Von dort bringt der Zug die Biker auch wieder zurück ins Nassfeld. Doch auch in und auf der Gail warten einige Abenteuer auf Euch...

Gailtal Radweg R3 von Kötschach nach Villach

96.2 km | 6:0 h | Schwierigkeit: leicht

Der Gailtal Radweg R3 führt parallel zur italienischen Grenze und großteils leicht bergab entlang der Gail.

Details

Badespaß an der Gail

Im Sommer ist die Gail die erste Adresse für eine angenehme Abkühlung. Das Fließwasser erfrischt auch an den wärmsten Tagen und sorgt für gemütliche Stunden am Ufer in unberührter Natur. Umgeben von schattenspendenden Bäumen, der bunten Vegetation und der heimischen Tierwelt erlebt Ihr hier ein Badeerlebnis der besonderen Art!

Tipp: Ab 15. April ist die Gail auch für Fliegenfischer geöffnet.

Wildwasserparadies

Wildwasser-Fans finden auf der Gail etwa 30 Kilometer an befahrbaren Strecken. Rafting-, Kajak- oder Kanu-Sportler kommen auf drei Abschnitten auf ihre Kosten:

  • Oberer Abschnitt: Bichl – St. Lorenzen, 10 km
  • Mittlerer Abschnitt: St. Lorenzen – Birnbaum/Nostra, 10 km
  • Unterer Abschnitt: Birnbaum/Nostra – Wehr vor Körtschach, 10 km

Die Tour durch den Fluss bietet mit vielen Stufen, Kurven, Gefällen und natürlichen Hindernissen eine abwechslungsreichen Ritt mit unterschiedlichen Schwierigkeitsgraden – und eine einmalige Reise durch einen einzigartigen Fluss.

 

Kleiner Tipp: Familienrafting auf der Gail ist mit der "+CARD holiday" in der Nebensaison GRATIS und in der Hauptsaison rabattiert!