Gailtaler Höhenweg

The "little brother" of the long distance hiking trail "Karnischer Höhenweg"

Located between the Carnic Alps to the south and the Drau Valley to the north, the Gailtal Alps stretch approximately 90km from the village of Kartitsch in East Tyrol to the Windische Höhe in Carinthia. The "Gailtaler Höhenweg" (nr. 229) long-distance hiking trail follows the ridge of this mountain range and is a great insider tip for hiking enthusiasts.

Despite the fact that this trail not the facilities like the "Karnische Höhenweg" leading along the Carnic Alps, the untouched landscape, natural beauty and lonely mountain peaks of the "Gailtaler Höhenweg" make it just as spectacular and rewarding. Because of the few high-alpine huts and shelters for the night, an ascent and descent is necessary at the start and finish of a stage or, alternatively, you stay in a tent overnight. 

This route is therefore very demanding but hikers are amply rewarded: because you experience a region so different from the long-distance hiking trails developed for tourists where it is very difficult for hikers to find space in a hut."

"Traumpfade" from Florian Guthknecht

Stages of the Gailtal Valley High Route

The Gailtal Valley High Route can be divided into individual day stages with well-marked and signposted ascents and descents. Apart from a few summit crossings, there are no significant difficulties along the Gailtal Valley High Route.

Tip: 
Walter Mair, a mountaineer and lover of nature, has written a detailed hiking guide about the Gailtal Valley High Route in the area around the Lesachtal Valley and the Gailtal Valley. In the 128-page publication, Mair describes the high route in three sections: 

  • Section I: from St. Oswald to the Gailberg Mountain (Lesachtal Valley area)
  • Section II: from the Gailberg Saddle to Weißbriach
  • Section III: from Weißbriach to Windischen Höhe

Apart from information about the course of the route, the hiking guide also contains notes on the flora and fauna as well as culture and includes options for the approach and the descent from the high route into the Gailtal Valley or Lesachtal Valley.

Gailtaler Höhenweg

Wanderung auf dem "kleinen Bruder" des Karnischen Höhenwegs

Zwischen den Karnischen Alpen im Süden und dem Drautal im Norden strecken sich die Gailtaler Alpen ca. 90 km von Kartitsch in Osttirol bis zur Windischen Höhe. Entlang des Kammes mit 10 Gipfeln verläuft der Gailtaler Höhenweg (Nr. 229), der als Geheimtipp gilt.

 

Wenn gleich nicht so gut erschlossen wie der gegenüber in den Karnischen Alpen verlaufende Karnische Höhenweg, so bietet diese Bergkette doch eine unglaubliche Vielfalt an Naturschönheiten, eine unberührte Landschaft und einsame Gipfel. Wegen der wenigen hochalpinen Hütten und Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten ist ein Auf- und Abstieg am Anfang und Ende einer Etappe erforderlich, oder man übernachtet als Alternative im Zelt. 

Anstrengend ist der Weg deshalb, aber der Wanderer wird für die Mühen reichlich entschädigt: denn so erlebt man eine Region, die ganz anders ist, als die touristisch erschlossenen Fernwanderwege, wo Wanderer in den Hütten kaum noch unterkommen."

"Traumpfade" von Florian Guthknecht

Wanderetappen des Gailtaler Höhenwegs

Der Gailtaler Höhenweg lässt sich in beliebig langen Tagesetappen unterteilen, mit gut markierten und beschilderten An- und Abstiegen. Von einigen Gipfelüberschreitungen abgesehen, liegen am Gailtaler Höhenweg nirgends bemerkenswerte Schwierigkeiten vor.

Tipp: 
Der Naturliebhaber und Bergsteiger Walter Mair hat einen ausführlich beschriebenen Wanderführer über den Gailtaler Höhenweg im Bereich des Lesachtales und des Gailtales verfasst. Im Druckwerk mit 128 Seiten beschreibt Mair den Höhenweg in drei Abschnitten: 

  • Abschnitt I: Von St. Oswald bis zum Gailberg (Lesachtaler Bereich)
  • Abschnitt II: vom Gailbergsattel bis Weißbriach
  • Abschnitt III: Von Weißbriach zur Windischen Höhe

Der Wanderführer enthällt neben den Informationen über Wegverlauf auch interessante Hinweise auf die Flora und Fauna sowie Kultur inkl. der Zu- und Abstiegsvarianten vom Höhenweg ins Gail- bzw. Lesachtal.