WE ARE ON THE RIGHT TRACK

Sustainability and carbon neutrality 

For several years now, the region encompassing the Nassfeld-Pressegger See, Lesachtal Valley and Weissensee areas has set out to make the living and recreational spaces a sustainable "world of good living” for locals and guests alike. Numerous measures that contribute to a resource-saving use of natural areas, the reduction of CO2 emissions and the achievement of the international sustainability goals of the UN as well as the "Green Deal Goals" of the EU have already been implemented.

Verified and awarded

Most sustainable tourism region in Austria

The measures already implemented and our concept for the future have prompted the Ministry of Climate and Environment and the Austrian Climate Fund - following the decision of an international jury - to award us the title of "AUSTRIA'S MOST SUSTAINABLE TOURISM REGION".

We are dependent on your help so that we can constantly improve our region:

GSTC certification

The region – including Tarvisio/Val Canale across the border - also underwent GSTC certification (GLOBAL STANDARDS FOR SUSTAINABLE TRAVEL AND TOURISM) according to the currently highest standards in the EU, and passed the certification very well. This makes us the first region in Austria to meet these standards, and the first cross-border destination in the world with this strictly controlled level of sustainability.

The path to achieving the goal will be continued step by step

To us, this is an incentive, but at the same time also a mandate to continue even more consistently on the path to carbon neutrality, taking into account ecological and economic aspects, supported by specific, measurable implementation measures. Primarily in the areas of energy management/efficiency, waste management, mobility, regional food sovereignty in our world's first Slow Food Travel Region, infrastructure, development of services, staff/employer quality and the preservation of a "world of good living” for locals and guests.

THE VISION

To us, acting sustainably does not mean a string of measures but ATTITUDE. We are all part of the habitat, of and with which we live. With the promotion of regional food sovereignty, the significant reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, enforced energy efficiency or the expansion of adequate, sustainable mobility and renewable energy, as well as a conscious further development of the region, we primarily serve the people in the valleys, and thus contribute to securing their livelihood. Above all, also in terms of a future fit for our grandchildren. Enhancing the quality of life and leisure time benefits both locals and visitors, who - living in harmony - meet each other in a mutually appreciative way.

Did you know that ….

  • the greenhouse gas balance of skiing holidays is 20 kg CO2 emissions per person and day when travelling by train and 33 kg CO2 emissions per person and day when travelling by car? * In comparison: a flight to Spain emits approx. 136 kg CO2, a long-distance flight (e.g., to the Maldives) even approx. 426 CO2. ** Therefore, the choice of transport has the greatest influence on the greenhouse gas balance.  
  • the introduction of on-demand buses on less frequented bus routes has reduced greenhouse gas emissions by up to 80%, without cutting services?

  • … Austria's first hybrid liner, the MS Alpenperle, operates on Lake Weissensee?
  • … our e-car sharing car FReD is used for driving an average of 22,000 km per year?
  • … Lesachtal breadmaking has been awarded UNESCO World Heritage status?
  • … we are the first certified GSTC destination in Austria?
  •  … more than 185 roofs in our region are already equipped with subsidised PV systems? This results in an average output of 10.47 kWp/1,000 inhabitants.  

What do you want to discover?

Wir sind auf einem guten Weg

Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaneutralität

Bereits seit einigen Jahren hat sich die Region mit den Lebensräumen Nassfeld-Pressegger See, Lesachtal und Weissensee auf den Weg gemacht, die Lebens- und Erholungsräume für Einheimische wie für Gäste zu einer nachhaltig gedachten „Welt des guten Lebens“ zu machen. Zahlreiche Maßnahmen, die zu einer ressourcenschonenden Nutzung der Naturräume, zur Reduktion des CO2-Ausstoßes und zur Erreichung der internationalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele der UN sowie der „Green Deal Ziele“ der EU beitragen, wurden bereits umgesetzt.

 

GEPRÜFT UND AUSGEZEICHNET

NACHHALTIGSTE TOURISMUSREGION ÖSTERREICHS

Die bisher schon umgesetzten Maßnahmen und unser Zukunftskonzept, haben das Klima- u. Umweltministerium sowie den österr. Klimafonds – nach einem internationalen Juryentscheid – veranlasst, uns den Preis als „NACHHALTIGSTE TOURISMUSREGION ÖSTERREICHS“ zuzuerkennen.

Damit wir unsere Region stetig verbessern können sind wir auf Eure Hilfe angewiesen:

GSTC-Zertifizierung

Ebenso wurde die Region – grenzüberschreitend mit Tarvisio/Val Canale – einer GSTC-Zertifizierung (GLOBAL STANDARDS FOR SUSTAINABLE TRAVEL AND TOURISM), nach den derzeit höchsten Standards in der EU, unterzogen und haben die Zertifizierung sehr gut abgeschlossen. Somit sind wir die erste Region Österreichs, die diese Standards erfüllt und die weltweit erste grenzüberschreitende Destination mit diesem streng kontrollierten Nachhaltigkeitslevel.

DER WEG ZUR ZIELERREICHUNG WIRD SCHRITT FÜR SCHRITT FORTGESETZT

Dies ist für uns Ansporn, gleichzeitig aber auch Auftrag, den eingeschlagenen Weg zur Klimaneutralität, unter Einbindung ökologischer und ökonomischer Aspekte, noch konsequenter fortzusetzen. Getragen von konkret, messbaren Umsetzungsmaßnahmen. Primär in den Bereichen Energiewirtschaft/-effizienz, Abfallwirtschaft, Mobilität, regionale Ernährungssouveränität in unserer weltweit ersten Slow Food Travel Region, Infrastruktur, Angebotsgestaltung, Mitarbeiter-/Arbeitgeberqualität sowie die Erhaltung einer „Welt des guten Lebens für Einheimische und Gäste.

DIE VISION

Nachhaltig handeln bedeutet für uns nicht eine Aneinanderreihung von Maßnahmen sondern HALTUNG. Wir alle sind Teil des Lebensraumes, von dem und mit dem wir Leben. Mit der Forcierung einer regionalen Ernährungssouveränität der deutlichen Reduktion der Treibhausgasemissionen,einer forcierten Energieeffizienz oder dem Ausbau bedarfsgerechter, nachhaltiger Mobilität und erneuerbarer Energie, sowie einer bewussten Weiterentwicklung der Region, dienen wir primär den Menschen in den Tälern und tragen zur Existenzsicherung bei. Vor allem auch im Sinne einer Enkeltauglichkeit. Durch die Hebung der Lebens- und Freizeitqualität profitieren Einheimische wie Besucher, die – im Gleichklang lebend – sich gegenseitig wertschätzend begegnen.

Wusstet ihr, dass ….

  • … nur 3 % der Gesamtfläche der Region Nassfeld-Pressegger See, Lesachtal, Weissensee bzw. der Karnischen Alpen und Gailtaler Alpen für Pisten/Infrastruktur genutzt wird?
  • … 100 % des Energiebedarfs für Lift- & Beschneiungsanlagen im Skigebiet Nassfeld aus Ökostrom erzeugt wird?
  • … durch die Einführung von bedarfsorientierten Rufbussen auf wenig frequentierten Busrouten die Treibhausgas-Emissionen, trotz gleichbleibendem Angebot, bis zu 80 % gesenkt werden konnten?
  • … durch den Bau des Speicherteiches „Rudnigalm“ im Skigebiet Nassfeld ca. 600.000 kWh pro Jahr eingespart werden?
  • … am Weissensee Österreichs 1. Hybrid-Linienschiff, die MS Alpenperle, verkehrt?
  • … unsere E-Carsharing FReD rund 22.000 km im Jahr gefahren wird?
  • … die Lesachtaler Brotherstellung zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe ausgezeichnet wurde?
  • … wir die österreichweit erste zertifizierte GSTC-Destination sind?
  • … wir mit der weltweit ersten Slow Food Travel-Region eine Vorreiterrolle in der österreichischen Nachhaltigkeitsentwicklung eingenommen haben?
  • … in unserer Region bereits 185 Dachflächen mit geförderten Photovoltaik-Anlagen ausgestattet sind? Das ergibt eine durchschnittliche Leistung von 10,47 kWp/1.000 Einwohner (Stand 2019)
  • … bei Drucksorten der Region immer auf öko-zertifiziertes Papier und nachhaltige Druckverfahren geachtet wird?

Was möchtest du entdecken?